Life in Black and White ~ Washington Square, NYC

As you walk away from bustling Broadway, past Shakespeare & Co Bookstore, and turn left at West 5th Street, you’re steps away from Washington Square Park. Heading towardsΒ its geyser-like fountain, you’ll stroll past NYU buildings and wonder what it would’ve been like to study in the heart of Manhattan.

The Park is always alive with people, especially in the afternoons. From photographers and tourists, to students, musicians, and strolling passers-through, you might feel like you’re in a flip book of scenes from a Woody Allen movie.

42 thoughts on “Life in Black and White ~ Washington Square, NYC

    • Thank you Karen! I love timeless black and white so much! It was fun to think of the photos on that way. This lens is so fast and great for street photography. I am so happy with it!

  1. very cool shots! love the girl with a dog and the rain drops on flowers .. b&w photography has it’s own charm and you did a great job of capturing it.

    • Thanks so much Elena, I appreciate that! I love the mystery behind black and white and i thought it would be fun to do here as this area is so colourful and vibrant (even in the rain).

  2. Our favorite square anywhere – me and my husband come here just to hang and enjoy every time we visit! I got some great shots the last visit that I love, there is always such great energy here πŸ™‚ Thanks Marina – awesome shots!

  3. Smashing series Marina. Did you shoot these with the 35mm? Washington Square looks like a nice place to visit. I sometimes wonder what it would be like to study at different universities in different cities. NYU would be a cool place I think. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adrian! I think about it too, studying in Barcelona, Paris, London, Boston. Maybe there’s still hope with mature/continuing education courses? (I’m not joking) yes, these are all taken with the 35mm ~ I was trying out DoF as well as sharpness. Still more learning to do!

  4. New York I love you *sigh* I love the 7th shot… The symmetry of the buildings is amazing, great shot thanks for sharing πŸ˜„

  5. Ok. See. Now you’re bringing things to the forefront. I used to live on Downing Street and I had to walk through this park to get to work everyday. I really loved it, that and a few other things that I can count on one hand was one of the things I loved about NY. Thank you, again.

    • The new lens is presenting this new challenge for me, and I’m glad my efforts are showing. Thank you – I’m glad to have brought back memories for you! It’s a great spot πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much Andy! Do you like the half sunken fire hydrant in that bench shot?! The banner image is from my current post-it will make sense when you read it πŸ˜‰ (Still havent figured out how to have separate banner images per post.)

Please Comment

