New York ~ Cloaked in Snow

I haven’t acclimated to the Northern Hempishere’s winters, but I was excited to experience the 2012’s first snowfall and see New York shine under snow. Don’t get me wrong, winter has blessed me with her presence here many times before — last year’s heavy storm left a lasting impression on me; I haven’t relocated back to warmer shores yet (as I vowed to do so at the time) — but I do miss New York’s snow-fringed beauty.

Here’s how the weekend unfolded…

SATURDAY

Drinking hot chocolate and watching movies all day would have been idyllic, but I decided to make the most of the 3+ inch snowfall and headed to Manhattan’s West Village. With the Christmas festivities over and holiday lights now taken down, the neighborhood’s streetscapes were still as pretty as ever, with window sills framed by snow, street lights sprinkled with a light dusting of flakes, sidewalks caked with slippery ice. A few people meandered about, dog walkers and window shoppers, who strolled around the cobblestoned Meatpacking District as store owners salting the way.

Along with a few determined sightseers, I ascended to the High Line via its Gansevoort Street entrance and enjoyed some of its views until the wind pretty much stopped me in my tracks and pushed me towards the nearest exit. Unfortunately, no amount of layering in the sub-zero temperatures could keep me from that chilled-to-the-bone feeling; my fingers went numb after an hour and I had raced back home to defrost with a hot cup of coffee.

NB: I altered a few of these shots with the retouch menu on the Nikon D5000.

The heart of the Meatpacking District

A tangled restaurant-front

“Call in Sick” – smart street art, especially for nine-to-fiver Mondays

Restaurant delivery bikes. Fatty Crab, in the background

A storefront in the Meatpacking District

The Standard Hotel, on the High Line

View from above

Railway Lines at the High Line

Sidetracked and sidelined – on the High Line

Grand Exit

Yippee – back home in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

 SUNDAY

With the temperatures a few degrees higher, I pictured Central Park in my sights. I’d seen the beauty of its fall colours, and more recently – Manhattan’s silhouetted skyline from its Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir, on a mild winter’s day. Now I needed to see it under snow. I ventured up-up-uptown to 79th Street and Central Park West.

Manhattan’s streets were painful to walk along, as the snow had  turned into either dirty slush or brown puddles. So, it was a relief to step into Central Park’s otherworldly beauty — it looked like a winter wonderland, blanketed under pure white snow, with the park’s trees and bridges outlined in white. The Park had transformed into a playground for snow-enthusiasts. Skiers whizzed past; sledders whoosed down hills; ice skaters circled Wollman Rink. Pathways crunched underfoot, a raft of ducks sought kept warm under low hanging tree branches where the water had not yet frozen over. Some birds braved a stroll along the ice. The continual sound of clicking hooves meant the tourists were keeping the horse-and-carriages rides busy.

I could go on, but I won’t. I’ll let this series of photos speak for themselves. They were taken as I made my way from 79th Street, toward The Shakespeare Garden and on to Belvedere Castle. From there, the Ramble’s meandering pathways led me over the Oak Bridge, along the shoreline of The Lake, past Sheep’s Meadow and Wollman Rink. After snapping a picture of The Plaza from the shores of The Pond, I made my way into slushy Manhattan via the 59th Street and Fifth Avenue exit.

I’m grateful for this snowfall and whilst I hope this is the last one, I won’t be dreading the next (as much). Enjoy!

Oak Bridge, looking over The Lake

Entering from 79th Street

Sledding

Skiing

In Shakespeare Garden

A tower of the Belvedere Castle. Erected 1869.

A castle doorway

Inside, looking out – Belvedere Castle

Manhattan skyline from The Lake

Frosted beauty – The Lake

Ducks on Ice

El Dorado Apartments, from The Lake

This was one slippery pathway, alongside The Lake

Beauty and The Lake

My little poser

Wollman Memorial Rink. Constructed in 1950; rebuilt in early 1980’s.

Sheep’s Meadow – closed for the winter season though usually grassy and green in warmer months; a social space.

The Plaza, seen over The Pond in Central Park

My token of love to Central Park

Back to busy Manhattan

56 thoughts on “New York ~ Cloaked in Snow

  1. Wonderful presentation. I have several favorites but it is the aggregate that really appeals to me. I’ve seen so many NYC photo sets and this is definitely one that stands out above the typical “cliche” NYC images.

    Great work! Peace
    Dan

  2. What a beautiful set of photos, Marina! You and your photos have inspired me so much that I booked a trip to NYC for next month. It’ll be my 5th trip out in 19 months. I hope it snows while I’m there.

    daisy

    • Daisy – that is so so cool! I hope it snows for you 😉 Even if it doesn’t, NYC is still beautiful and there’s so much to do… and great places to eat! I hope you post on your trip when you’re here. Thanks so much for your comment! I am so excited for you.

    • Hi Shimon – I had never seen the ducks grouped together like that and I was fascinated with them walking over the ice too. Central Park brings about all sorts of changes during its seasons – I like that about it. Thank you so much!

  3. Snow makes such a big difference! Cities always look so nice and clean covered in snow 🙂 I love when it snows in London, only then the city is paralysed, the traffic stops and people stop… they are never ready for it 😀

  4. I can feel the cold- which isn’t bad as it is going to be 42C here on Friday and Saturday!
    What a tricky button you have on the Nikon- I love the effects you can get.
    The Central Park photos are stunning. It’s like another world. Does this mean a couple of trips to NYC to see the different seasons!

    • wow! 42C? Its 42F here 🙂 The Nikon is a great camera with the retouch menu – many options to jazz it up a bit 🙂 I will most certainly make my way to Central park a few more times – I am so looking forward to seeing those spring blossoms!! That will be a LONG post 😉 Thanks Jenny! Stay cool!

  5. Superb storytelling, Marina! You have this wonderful knack for pulling the viewer right into the images, to the extent that one can almost sense the movement in them. It really is quite remarkable…And I see that you have the support that proves me right! Great stuff.

    You know which of these are my favourites? It’s the fire hydrant, the heart in snow, chair, and of course the graffiti wall. Man, I love those!

    • JP – thanks so much! I love your comment and it really makes me feel good to read it. Thank you for that 🙂 The heart was my own street art snow graffiti 😉 Thanks for the fave list – the chair just seems to tell its own story, doesn’t it?

    • Wow – thank you so much photobella 🙂 I’ll check out your post. And thanks for your comment about the photos – not as cold today and snow is melting, so glad I caught the height of it.

    • Thanks so much Karen! When my fingers numbed, I could empathise with you, taking your glassy gorgeous images! I am glad I made use of the weekend to get out there as it is all melting away now :S

  6. great photos of nyc in the snow – i was there just after christmas 2010, the day after the snow storm that shut down the city! it was great – but then I am from a cold weather climate (- 20C last week here in Calgary) so the temperatures never seem that bad in nyc! NYC has so much to see and I love the way you take us on a little tour with your posts! thanks for sharing your day and your photos.

  7. An outstanding writeup as usual – but – the photos! I love so many of them. You have certainly outdone yourself with this one, Marina!

    • Wow – thank you so much! It was my first time photographing in snow, so I wasn’t sure how it would all turn out. But it was alot of fun photographing in Central Park – the landscape had changed overnight 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment, and for looking at the High Line photos. I wish I had gone down a little further down the path though it was way too cold for me. I had to race back down to street level!

  8. Once again fantastic photos. I really like those from Central Park. I think it is cool that you have taken a photo from the Wollman Memorial Rink and then 4 photos down put a photo from the Plaza “seen over the pond”. Despite the very similar background, it is amazing how the two photos look different.

    • Thanks for your lovely comment 🙂 The photos are a little different from playing around with shutter speed (for the rink) and then aperture and some filtering for the Plaza. I had never photographed in snow before so it was fun to jazz it up a bit 🙂

  9. Pingback: Musings at The Conservatory Garden, Central Park, NYC ~ with thanks | Marina Chetner

Please Comment