Distance… Sydney to LA

Living far from home tests me. When the recent tragic event unfolded in Martin Place, Sydney, I scrolled through social media, emailed family and friends, and checked on Facebook posts so I could keep up to date with the latest news. During these times you feel helpless, living thousands of miles away; digital technology gives you control in a situation from which you are removed. In an instant, I knew where my mum and dad were, where my sisters were, that my brothers and close friends were ok. That’s something a phone call could never do, especially when the lines used to be so jammed, I could never get through.

Most of all, such events show us that we’re in this together, no matter which part of the world we live in. We may not agree on everything, but we come from the same place. A good place.

The same sunsets in Los Angeles and in Sydney. December 15 2014.

The same sun sets in Los Angeles and in Sydney. December 15 2014.

4 thoughts on “Distance… Sydney to LA

  1. Marina, you’ve captured the feeling of living far away from family succinctly and accurately! I had very similar thoughts and emotions over the past couple of days.

Please Comment

