April Showers Bring May Flowers ~ Williamsburg, Brooklyn

Fishbowl New York reported that Vanity Fair editor Graydon Carter recently described Williamsburg just so: “Literally I could have been going to Chad,” said Carter. “It was not what I expected. The architecture wasn’t as interesting or as baroque or as industrial — it looked like Queens to me.”
Has anyone been to Chad? Based on Carter’s experience, I certainly want to go! I heart Williamsburg, Brooklyn and all that it is.

Marina Chetner

I’m quite fond of some good ol’ clichés; I use them and I’ve come across many in recent articles. Yet they are considered a no-no in writing.

Cliché, defined: a phrase or idea that has been used so often that it is no longer interesting or effective. (Source: Oxford American Dictionary)

There’s a reason why a cliché is a cliché; like a quote, sometimes it describes something so succinctly, that – depending on the nature of the writing – it might be just the right wording you’re looking for.

Recently, I read an article in the New York Times by A.A.Gill: My London, and Welcome to It, that was dotted with clichés; from phrases such as the river runs like dark silk through the heart of the city, to non-specific words like charming,wonderful, and beautiful.

Reading his prose, I thought it brilliant; I wasn’t…

View original post 185 more words

4 thoughts on “April Showers Bring May Flowers ~ Williamsburg, Brooklyn

Please Comment

