Scenes from Seal Beach, OC ~ California

In 1923 Cecil B. DeMille filmed “The Ten Commandments” and Moses’ parted the “Red Sea” on the flat sea shore of Seal Beach. ~ Seal Beach Chamber

If you drive about 45 minutes south of Los Angeles, along the coast of Orange County, you’ll happen upon Seal Beach. You wouldn’t think it given the laid back vibe and family-friendly atmosphere, but the city has quite the storied past. Legend has it that, at one point, Seal Beach was known as “Sin City”; a drop off point for rum runners during prohibition, and a place where prostitution was found in the upstairs of more than one Main Street establishment.*

Today, Main Street is the spot for Sunday family brunch — The Crema Cafe serves delectable baked goods to-go like Kouign Amann and almond croissants if you don’t have patience for a 40-minute table wait. The century-old pier attracts a fishing crowd and Sunday strollers.

Overall, Seal Beach seems very cool, calm, and collected. Perhaps the city was inspired by the Ten Commandments to clean up its act?

DSC_0634PSDSC_0635psDSC_0636PSDSC_0637PSDSC_0640PSDSC_0642PSDSC_0643psDSC_0646PSDSC_0649PSDSC_0653PS

24 thoughts on “Scenes from Seal Beach, OC ~ California

  1. Love the history of the beach, particularly the Parting of the Sea. Interesting to see that Kouigh Amman is sold in California. I’d never heard of it until I came to France: it’s a speciality from Brittany, which I’m sure you knew. I just didn’t think the Franco-American link went that deep:)

    • Thanks Roger. I have no idea to the background of Kouign Amann except that it is full of butter! The first time I tried it was in downtown LA — in a spot called the Bread Lounge in the Arts District and I haven’t looked back 🙂 Have you ever attempted to make it?

  2. Smashing series of photographs Marina. Oh I would so love to visit California. The problem is, I think I’d want to stay and that’s not easy to do these days.. 🙂

    • An extended visit would do the trick Adrian — maybe after summer when the weather isn’t so hot but pleasant enough to get up pre-dawn (sans the fog) and take some of your gorgeous landscapes. I vote for a Sept-Nov stay 😉 Thank you!

  3. Oh wow, those snapshots just make me want to fly over and claim my rightful spot on the beach 😀 Even though the flight would be around 10 hours, I definitely think it would be worth it!

  4. So much summer! I am already in the “it’s-going-by-too-quickly nostalgic mode”. Trying to eek out as many beautiful weather experiences as possible.
    Gosh the ocean is endlessly gorgeous… : )

  5. Hy Marina, as a fan of you, hmm, I wonder if you have one of your amazing shuts to send me as a gift. In my school of music we have to elect the new director and for the new candidate, my candidate, we do not find the right image for his electoral site. Do you have same “musical” pic?. Am I outrageous? If yes, I beg your pardon. Pasquale

Please Comment

