Saturday Morning in Venice ~ LA, CA

Away from its famed Boardwalk jammed with tables selling eclectic art, and not far from the ΓΌber cool Abbot Kinney where street art decorates many a store facade rests Venice’s grid of canals.

As you enter the walkways of this historic district, which line four east-west canals and two north-south canals, the high-energy vibe of surrounding Venice Beach metamorphoses into a feeling of stillness and calm. There’s nothing to do but inhale the sweet salty smell of the sea air as you admire the residential architecture and outdoor living spaces. Here, no two homes are alike.

I can guarantee that there are few places in this city where you will share a walkway with pairs of ducks, dogs walking their owners, locals, and low key tourists all at the one time. Perhaps I’ll hire a paddle board to skim the canals next time – just to take the road less traveled.

DSC_0370PSDSC_0372PSDSC_0375PSDSC_0377PSDSC_0388PSDSC_0389PSDSC_0390PSDSC_0394PSDSC_0395PSDSC_0399PSDSC_0402PSDSC_0404PSDSC_0414PSDSC_0415PSDSC_0417PSDSC_0418PSDSC_0420PSDSC_0421PSDSC_0422PSDSC_0423PSDSC_0425PS

53 thoughts on “Saturday Morning in Venice ~ LA, CA

  1. I had no idea that Venice in LA had canals. I thought it was just a sort of low rent muscle beach. Very cool pictures. I suddenly have a memory of a late night, watching CSI, for want of anything better, in which our heroes leapt across and into the canals in pursuit of the villain.

    • There were more canals though some were filled in to become roads – how sad! Hmmm, I don’t share the passion for CSI (though my husband does). So, I’ll take your word for it! Thanks!

  2. Really liked looking through your photos. When I saw the title, I thought it was Venice, Italy where we went on holiday a couple of years ago and LOVED it. So, it was a bit of a surprise – but a nice one – to find your lovely canal pics but in a different location. Maybe I’ll visit there one day.

  3. Funny to see this post, I was there just three weeks ago and saw just this, especially liked the colorful yellow house πŸ™‚

  4. such great shots Marina I couldn’t pick one that was my favourite, although I LOVE the door framed in blue and the white boat reflection – they are all fantastic! (PS Have been loving your bikram yoga posts too) πŸ™‚

Please Comment

