New Year’s Eve Snaps ~ Hollywood Hills, LA, CA

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day. ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce

Transitioning from day # 366 of 2012, a new year has suddenly dawned, and with it the connotations of renewal, goal-making, and setting intentions. Nursing a New Year’s Day hangover, or not, I revel in the idea of a ‘fresh start.’ As cliche as that reads, I actually did find the time to stop, think, and write down what I’d like to achieve in the New Year. So far, all boxes have been checked for Day 1…

Here’s to 365 days of blogging: reading, photographing, and scribing our musings. Wishing you, dear readers, a wonderful 2013. Here’s to living our lives in the best ways we know how.

About the images below: Except for the first one, all were taken on NYE 2012 at the Japanese inspired Yamashiro Restaurant. Perched on one of the ‘Hollywood Hills’, it was home to the Four Hundred Club in the ’20s; actor/director Frank Elliott purchased the space so that Hollywood’s film industry could dine and schmooze without being bothered. Today it is a restaurant, wedding destination, and filming location. Truly a good spot for a drink and some sushi – maybe for some photo opps too.

When in California, drink California champagne - "Korbel".

When in California, drink California champagne – “Korbel”

DSC_1040PS

DSC_1031PS

DSC_1049PS

Lychee Sake

Lychee Sake

DSC_1065PSDSC_1072PS

support + love = my husband

support + love = my husband

Me next to the fat buddha.

Me

DSC_1064PSDSC_1086PS

46 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve Snaps ~ Hollywood Hills, LA, CA

      • I haven’t yet seen the movies you recommended but I have a list of ‘to see’ movies and I’ve added them. I ended up watching Men in Black 3 which made me laugh out loud in places so that can’t be bad. 🙂

      • I haven’t seen the winners and losers yet. On top of my list was Looper which was OK. I like a good action movie or Sci-Fi without too much violence which isn’t easy to come by. I’m really not into seeing slow motion shootings in graphic detail which seem very much in vogue at the moment. I’ve just seen Prometheus which was OK-ish. Obviously close connections with the Alien series. Prequel maybe? I suppose the best I’ve seen lately was the recent Batman trilogy which I really didn’t expect to like. Any recommendations always appreciated. I’ve got Jack Reacher on my list from out last chat about movies.

      • Hmmm, what else can I recommend? Life of Pi is quite a magical, fantastical movie. I liked Looper actually – it gripped me and we were musing about the ending and the whole Sci-Fi storyline for days. Lincoln – must see. Impossible -tsunami movie based on a real life story which is quite good. Zero Dark Thirty – might not be your cup of tea though?

  1. Very nice, Marina. I get a real sense of the fun and occasion from these shots. Looking forward to seeing more of your work now that I’ve ‘discovered’ your blog :-). All the best for the coming year.

  2. Amazing post and you look stunning! Love the last shot!

    I actually did the same, made a cup of coffee, sat down and reviewed my year, noted what I was thankful for (everything basically) and then set new goals and reset those I didn’t achieve last year 🙂 Happy New Year!

    • Thanks so much K! That last shot was taken just before we left and I think it turned out so interesting. I’m glad you like it! I am glad you set goals – they’re a good thing to have. Hope you’re doing well with them! Happy 2013!

  3. Nice photos. I like your resolutions. Yamashiro has a farmers market in the summer. You can take a free shuttle bus from parking lot at La Brea and Hollywood Blvd (I think it’s those streets) up to Yamashiro. They have music, vendors and food trucks. I get my food and go sit on lower patio of Yamashiro.

  4. Pingback: Wait. Who, Me? The {Booker} Award « Writing Pieces of Me

Please Comment

