A Mark Made – New Orleans, Louisiana

First impressions have left their mark as we travel across the US on a short trip. As much as I try to avoid it, I do make comparisons when I visit a new city based on other places I have seen and experienced.

I liked New Orleans as soon as I saw it. From a distance, its skyline is defined but doesn’t impose. Being introduced via the Garden District, my eyes and mindΒ  immediately became preoccupied. Lush green ferns cascade over lacy wrought iron balconies; Creole, Caribbean, and Colonial architecture decorate the streets, block after block; the opulent interiors of the neighbourhood’s stately homes stand on display, well lit by their high ceilinged grand chandeliers.

On a general scale, I initially likened New Orleans to some of my favourite places. I compared its palm fringed, neon lit Canal St with LA’s Hollywood Boulevard; the milliner, boutiques, and cafes of Magazine St with the main shopping arteries of Brooklyn’s Park Slope and Williamsburg; the Spanish and French Colonial styles of its French Quarter with the Gothic one in Barcelona; the oranges, pinks, and blues of its residences and storefronts with the colours of Havana, Cuba.

All these observations combined highlighted the well liked and familiar, but I gleaned a greater appreciation for the city by characteristics I found unique to it:

Receiving a warm welcome upon arrival at Terrell House B&B, housed in an immaculately maintained 3 story Italianate mansion; tasting my first spoonful of spicy gumbo, my first bite of tender alligator sausage, my first forkful of blue cheese topped fried oysters at the Red Fish Grill on Bourbon St; people watching and sipping on a chicory coffee in lively Jackson Square while listening to a saxophonist play the tune of Amazing Grace.

Seeing, feeling, and tasting so much in a short span of time, and being hungry for more, is testament enough that first impressions do count for alot.

Ironwork details of Terrell House, Magazine Street

Alligator Sausage and Seafood Gumbo at Red Fish Grill on Bourbon Street

Canal Street, New Orleans

Magazine District, near the Garden District

Colours in the French Quarter

In Jackson Square

46 thoughts on “A Mark Made – New Orleans, Louisiana

    • It is a great part of the US – so unlike anywhere I have been, yet so familiar. Glad you like that shot – maneuvering with a prime lens to fit in the wide vistas is a challenge in itself πŸ™‚ Those balconies must get piping hot in the heat. Thanks so much!

    • The landscape and vibe of cities changes so much, and on a road trip it feels so instant. From the churn of waves to the brass sounds of jazz. I am glad you enoyed these. Thanks for your thoughts Karen – it is difficult to see what an impact that storm had.

  1. I loved New Orleans when i was there. My mom and I stayed on Bourbon street. We loved Cafe du Monde and all the food. I actually went through withdrawals when I came back to LA. I missed N O so much. Pat O’ Briens is a great place that has the dueling pianos. I loved that place too.
    Thinking about you , how you left NY just in time, otherwise you’d be in that storm. Good thing you packed up and moved.

    • We went to Cafe du Monde too Karen – loved that chicory coffee! You must have some grand memories of your time there – extra special to be with your mum too πŸ™‚ Yes, regarding NY, it was such a close call with our leaving. The devastation is so hard to watch. I don’t know how to feel really. Thanks for your thoughts πŸ™‚

    • Go Go Go! It’s such a fab place. I can’t wait to go back myself. Oct/Nov is perfect weather too. Not humid, and just a slight chill. People are in Halloween spirit too πŸ™‚ thank you!

    • Amazing!! I recommend Red Fish Grill – my husband said it was his best meal in a long time, and he works in the restaurant industry, and there was a spot called Napoleon’s House that I vow to go back to. It looked very old school and cool! Do you need any recommendations? I have read about a number of highly rated eating spots. Let me know! I am so excited for you!

  2. Very interesting! I’m planning a road trip across USA next year, with my boyfriend…
    We would like to go from Miami to San Francisco and New Orleans is one of the must-stop! πŸ™‚ I can understang what you say about the carribean, creole, colonial taste of some towns… I’ve loved Cuba so much and I’m looking forward to see New Orleans, I can only imagine the atmosphere and music up there…
    Thanks for sharing your experience and the beautiful pictures!

    • That’s so great! enjoy the trip and do leave some things to chance πŸ™‚ even though some planning is essential. There’s a place called Napoleon House in New orleans and I really wish we’d dined there. It was a hideout for him in the past – check it out πŸ™‚ I love Cuba too and it felt like it in the French Quarter. I’ll write a more detailed post on New Orleans soon so do look out for it. Probably in 2 weeks! Thanks for reading!

Please Comment

