A Lincoln Sighting ~ Washington DC

On a cross country trip: time goes by quickly when in port*, but not swiftly enough when on the road.

Here, one of many impressions I will be posting over the next few days while traveling across the US. I’m looking forward to compiling a series of more detailed posts in November.

Below: Abraham Lincoln looking over the Mall in Washington DC.

At the Lincoln Memorial

Image in header: Fall has made its appearance, and provides a backdrop to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.

*Those who have been on a cruise ship and followed a swift itinerary will understand the importance of seeing as much as possible in a short space of time.

16 thoughts on “A Lincoln Sighting ~ Washington DC

    • I am so happy to have seen DC’s colour – they certainly added to the Mall. The memorials are must sees for visitors – I need to go back and spend more time with them. Thank you!

    • Pedro, that’s such a lovely comment. I appreciate it and will carry it with me in my mind. My NY posts will now be very sparse but I am glad they have been interesting to you and others πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  1. I have never accepted the importance of seeing as much as possible in a short space of time. My attitude is that we should try and see in depth, what we’re able to, and quantity really doesn’t matter, because we’ll never see al there is to see.

    • I agree Shimon! But the other option would be to drive for long hours on stretches of highway with minimal stops… and that to me is not a road trip πŸ™‚ In general though, I share your sentiments. Thank you!

Please Comment

