Fiery Sunset over NY ~ Williamsburg, Brooklyn

Success is like reaching an important birthday and finding you’re exactly the same

~ Audrey Hepburn

Success, birthdays, change: I’ll take it all with a good dose of champagne, and an attitude that I’m forever young.

It took one look out of my window to notice the huge ball of orange fire that was setting behind the Williamsburg Bridge – camera in hand, I sprinted up to the rooftop to photograph the sunset. It was as if the fiery shades of red and gold were a nod to the Leo star sign.

Williamsburg Bridge is to the right, and downtown Manhattan with its 1 World Trade Centre – to the left.

42 thoughts on “Fiery Sunset over NY ~ Williamsburg, Brooklyn

  1. These are great captures of the sunset! The first one is my favorite! I love the way the stark, fiery orange evolves into dark dramatic clouds, and then to the blue sky. Very striking!

    • Happy Birthday Lilian. Are you a Leo? I am so happy to share the view with you – I hope it gives a sense of place and NYC will be here when you’re able to come again! Thanks!

      • Pros: sharper pics and fast shutter. Cons: forget wide shots. I need to carry the kit lens for that πŸ™‚ will experiment and pull together a post that will hopefully make sense of my test shots soon πŸ™‚ thanks Tricia πŸ™‚

      • Good to know, Marina. I’m considering an external flash, but wondered if a lens might be more useful and practical. We shall see. Let’s stay in touch and swap shutterbug intel. πŸ™‚

      • Tricia, I am loving the fixed lens. I would take it over an external flash πŸ™‚ I am not a fan of flash anyway. I just posted a photo with the 35mm on my bikramyogamusings.com of a sunflower πŸ™‚

Please Comment

