Lovebirds in Malibu ~ Los Angeles, CA

In order to see birds it is necessary to become part of the silence. ~ Robert Lynd

Being by the ocean is so calming; reinvigorating. It’s got alot to do with that mix of sweet-salty sea smell, the vision of its multispectrum blues, and a feeling of being on the edge of something infinite.

The Pacific Ocean along California’s West Coast is one of the most beautiful shorelines I have ever seen. Along the Malibu Pier, the moments during sunset feel as if they’re yours alone to enjoy. Well, almost…

36 thoughts on “Lovebirds in Malibu ~ Los Angeles, CA

  1. Lovebirds! I wonder – do pigeons choose mates like eagles? It always fscinates me that eagles mate for life. Gorgeous shots as usual Marina, nothing like the ocean along the pier! Happy Friday!

    • hi Shira! That is a question for the animal experts! I just loved documenting these two lovebirds – no questions asked πŸ™‚ Love the ocean – glad you agree!! Ahh, to transport myself there now πŸ™‚ Happy Friday!

      • I wish I was there now too! And for those pigeons….I am so glad I always have google! πŸ˜‰
        Happy Friday to you too! PS – great yoga article! Just left a comment via Facebook but will respond to your mail as well – thanks for writing!

      • Let me know about googling pigeons! I am so glad you enjoyed it – intrigued if you think it should be an Olympic Sport πŸ™‚ Thanks for taking a read!

      • My pleasure! Not sure of my own personal opinion as I do err on the side of thinking we North Americans have somewhat missed the point on yoga (in some ways not all) – though I do see many valid reasons for doing so as well – particularly the joy and self confidence that comes from promoting and celebrating all excellence in sport (be it yoga or snowboarding) . It was a very well written article!

      • I love your answer – celebrating excellence and joy. I wish more people would see such a nice point of view. I’m glad you took a read Shira πŸ™‚

      • Glad to! If that is the outcome then there can be no downside. The truth is that yoga is here to stay and we should all find a way to ‘find a way’ with it. I don’t think there is a right and a wrong. Just those opposites alone are not in ‘union’ with eachother – isn’t this the true meaning and purpose of yoga? I love the way you presented the stories – well done!

      • I agree – your practice is your practice. As someone just emailed to me, “Yoga means different things to people.” Thanks Shira – it was an article worth the effort πŸ™‚

  2. The pair of lovebirds that have flown around our garden on summer evenings over the last five years have not appeared this year. We miss them. Lovely post bringing back memories of grilled fish and iced beer on a pier restaurant along that coast.

    • What kind of birds were the ones that would visit you? I am sure you miss them – it’s always nice to greet ‘old animal friends’. Happy to have brought back some good memories – it’s a glorious stretch! Thanks!

    • I was trying to be as calm as possible in photographing the lovebirds πŸ™‚ Hardly silent, but tried to be as cool, calm, and collected as possible! It is a very photogenic pier Laura – I still remember that great pic of you, your mum, and your niece that I posted on Mother’s Day! Thanks πŸ™‚

  3. Very nice Marina. We don’t have any piers in Cornwall but then most of the beaches are so small in rocky coves. The pigeons are sweet and this looks like a great place to hang out and watch the sun go down. One day maybe I’ll get to drive the Pacific Coast Highway. It’s on my bucket list that’s for sure. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Adrian. There are so many piers along the Pacific – from San Diego up to San Fran. It’s a worthwhile trip, that’s for sure. Parts of the Pacific Coast highway bring back scenes from Alfred Hitchcock movies πŸ™‚

  4. Cute pigeons, courting each other. Marina I see that you are facing the same challenge I have, at least it sems to me. Each time I put a new header image on a new post , it changes the images on all other posts. I would love to have a different header image for each individual post. Have you figured that one out??? Have a great weekend, greetings from the other coast!!!

    • Cornelia, thanks for taking a look. As for the changing of the header, I am not sure how to keep the original header per post… if any tech savvy readers out there see our commentary, I hope they’ll help us out. Sorry for not having an answer 😦

  5. Love the quote – that’s all a bird wants, just a little peace and quiet. Even though I just came home from the beach and all I saw were seagulls (whom I love devotedly) arguing with each other.

    Boyfriend and I sometimes see mourning doves – who do mate for life – looking for real estate (usually his garage), and building their nests.

    • What a lovely comment Aubrey! I am so glad you liked the quote and could relate it to what you saw πŸ™‚ Seagulls arguing – I see it now! Devoted doves – they are used in wedding ceremonies alot aren’t they? How fun you see them setting up home πŸ™‚ Thank you!

Please Comment

