Summer Solstice ~ New York City

Today, if you’re north of the Equator, you’re enjoying the spoils of the longest day of the year; June 20th marks the Summer Solstice

Many cultures associate this day in June with a renewal of mind, body and spirit; it’s a celebration of creative expression brought about by the sun.

Summer officially starts at 7:08pm NY time. That’s in a few minutes… So whilst I grab a glass of white to celebrate, enjoy the images I took in NY as I frolicked under today’s rays (again, that midday sun!) They were taken from 12.30pm onwards – in Times Square during the ‘Mind Over Madness’ Summer Solstice event, and then in Chinatown.

Happy Summer! Oh, and did I mention it was about 96F today? Hot, hot, hot… Enjoy!

40 thoughts on “Summer Solstice ~ New York City

  1. Yogi M – Your pics are so much better than the ones I have been seeing of the Times Square Yoga-off. Seriously. You capture the ‘feel’ of NY… It’s 2nd only to being there. πŸ™‚

    • Syders, you’re so lovely! Thank you!! I am going to do a more extensive post on the Mind Over madness event on bikramyogamusings.com soon! I’ll keep you posted! Your comment has made this day of summer better (I rushed the post so I could have it published at 7.08pm!! Made it by a second!)

    • Ahh, it was HOT Scott. Now, let me ask why you aren’t out celebrating? Happy Summer πŸ™‚ Thank you for your comment – I admit, rushed this post to make the 7.08pm timing. Might have to add an appendix!

  2. It’s freezing here in Brisbane, your photos make me nostalgic for the summers I have spent in NYC… Lovely photos thanks Marina πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely colourful and vibrant pictures Marina. That midday sun is very good for making the most colour.
    I always prefer the winter solstace as it’s the start of the days getting longer rather than shorter.. Still, we’ve got a few months now in which to enjoy the summer.. Hah! What summer, 59 degress and wet again today. πŸ™‚

    • The midday sun isn’t just for pool time is it?! Sometimes we have no choice but to venture out in the prime of the day – and it is fun! Enjoy the summer – sending sunshine your way. Thanks so much Adrian!

  4. i’ve never been to new york but somehow i always associate the city with black/white colors.. so wonderful to see it in variety of shades…
    really nice shots particularly the second one, resembling a miniature or lego land πŸ™‚

    • I’m so glad to show you a vibrant and colourful NYC – it is beautiful in b/w too but Times Square needs a colour palette to bring it to life πŸ™‚ That second shot does look like Legoland – the taxis reminded me of Matchbox cars! Thank you orchid!

  5. Fabulous pictures! πŸ™‚ Loved your Bikram Yoga post as well πŸ™‚ We were lucky to have a lovely day yesterday too, I spent all day in the famous Old Spitalfields market with the students (work stuff) yesterday and truly enjoyed being out of the office πŸ˜€

    • Being out of the office on sunny days is such a treat! I’m glad you liked these, and the BikramYogaMusings ones too! Sending London more sunshine!! Thanks Kristina πŸ™‚

  6. Hey Marina….
    You’ve always had a great eye…but your photos really are getting VERY good indeed….
    Talking about technique may seem a bit cold and clinical but these are so so SO spot on that I just had to say something…
    A good eye is the most important thing for a photographer, but a mastery of craft is often undervalued….
    These are absolutely first rate…

    • Thanks so much Stuart! I so appreciate your comment. I’m still in the learning phase (very behind on my course notes for photography) so your words have given me a boost πŸ™‚ Glad you liked these – Times Square is fun to shoot from up top. i was stoked to be at bill board level!

      • You really took advantage of the viewpoint….What I thought was most impressive is the way viewpoint didn’t ride roughshod over composition….It would have been easy to rely purely on the unusual viewpoint and let composition be a little sloppy, but yours stayed measured and controlled..
        Anyway here’s a toast to the learning phase…
        πŸ™‚

      • That’s really kind of you to say! I tried – especially as Summer Solstice is about creativity and I wanted to do something a little more interesting (even though I just have the 18-55mm kit lens)! Stuart, I would love our thoughts now on my shots here: http://www.bikramyogamusings.com as I included more given it was a yoga-centric event. If you have time, let me know what you think!! Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Summer Solstice, Part 2 ~ New York City | Marina Chetner

Please Comment

