Midday Scenes ~ Brooklyn, NY

I read somewhere that for a photographer, 11am until 3pm is classified as ‘pool time.’

While others may be reclining back with cocktail in hand, I broke the rules (again) and snapped with the point ‘n shoot under the rays of the midday sun… In my opinion, since nothing is permanent in Williamsburg, every hour has to be a good time to photograph.

This is Saturday midday in the ‘hood. Enjoy!

PS. Personal note: Happy Birthday to my dad and my brother. Technically, both of your birthdays overlap at this time based on Aussie and NYC time zones. Dad: 16th; Alex: 17th.

41 thoughts on “Midday Scenes ~ Brooklyn, NY

    • Scott, what inspired me to post about Williamsburg (again) today was that new street art (the 2nd photo). I never know when these works will disappear (it’s happened to me before) and as I had the devoted point n shoot in my bag… I guess I got carried away 🙂 Glad you enjoyed these! Thank you!

    • I know – pool time with a built in cocktail hour too, right? Seeing a yellow cab in Brooklyn is a little bit of a novelty (none of the Manhattan cabs know their way around the borough) so I had to snap it. Glad you liked it 🙂 Thank you!

    • There are so many shadows on the pavement at that time – they remind me of fabric designs (good for inspiration). Glad you liked those! Re: Flowers – I agree with you, especially as the light mutes out the details. Ahh well, better to practice than not at all. At least you’re enjoying the time outdoors 🙂 Thank you!

    • Thanks Gabriele – your comment is so kind 🙂 The pipes are so cool – I agree. Especially with the stickers on them. I find that when you click on the image, the resolution looks so much better. That graffiti image of the birds looks so compressed in the post, but when I clicked on it – it looked so much clearer. And I thought it was because of the 72 pixels I shot it in 😉

    • Hi Roger – give me a camera, I’ll take photos of something. If they turn out well – BONUS! Thanks so much 🙂 PS Though you do have a great many lovely light captured images on your blog 😉

  1. Thank you for sharing your midday walk Marina. Always a pleasure. I know that many landscape photographers get up almost before they’ve gone to bed in the summer to capture that early morning light and then hang around all day to capture the light as it begins to fade.. I tend to take pictures when I’m up and about and have the camera with me. This invariably means the middle of the day and a few hours either side and I guess that goes for most of us. I quite like harsh shadows, not all pictures benefit from the golden hour treatment and I enjoyed your pictures very much.

    • Thank you so much Adrian! I thought I was the only one that liked those midday shadows, so I am so glad not to be alone in that. It is tough to shoot as if on ‘assignment’ unless we happen to be on a trip. I will try it in Brooklyn … one day! But sometimes, things just unfold as they should. Thanks again 🙂

  2. I think it is good to break the ‘rules’ – any time is good time for photography! Of course the golden hours are wonderful but then life does not restrict itself to a few hours in one day. Loving the urban feel…

  3. Love the photos 🙂 It’s always nice to see some street action 🙂 And it looks nice and sunny there; please send some sunshine to London! 🙂

    • Hi Jenny! Glad you liked that street art. I saw a couple of things today – some pink hydrangeas (never seen those before) and new street art but didn’t have any camera on me! I forgot it in the rush. There’s always tomorrow (if it’s all still in place). Thanks so much PS I spell checked for ya!

  4. These shots are FAB! I love that you used a point and shoot too! Rules are so meant to be broken and these pics prove it – there is no ‘right’ time to be inspired (is there?)…thanks Marina!

    • Thanks Shira! I’m glad you liked these – and there’s time to always be inspired. Actually, one photo here set off all the others. We only have to look around once we’re in the zone 🙂

Please Comment

