Forever Celebrating Frank Lloyd Wright

Wright’s building made it socially and culturally acceptable for an architect to design a highly expressive, intensely personal museum. In this sense almost every museum of our time is a child of the Guggenheim. ~ Paul Goldberger

Today is Frank Lloyd Wright’s birthday (June 8, 1867 – April 9, 1959), architect of the loved Guggenheim Museum in New York. According to architect Philip Johnson, this is Wright’s ‘greatest building, New York’s greatest building.’

There is an old saying about the Guggenheim; you come to see Kandinsky or Picasso, but you stay to see Frank Lloyd Wright. ~ Ultan Guilfoyle

Unfortunately, Wright didn’t get to see the museum open as he passed away 6 months prior.

I wrote about the Guggenheim, and the controversy surrounding it, in a previous blog post, here: The Guggenheim Museum: in ‘All’ its glory

On the West Coast, one of his residential achievements, made famous in particular by the movie Bladerunner, is the Ennis House. Set in the hills of Los Feliz with wonderful views over a low lying Los Angeles, Wright designed the home for Charles and Mabel Ennis in 1923. It was built a year later.

Frank Lloyd Wright designed over 1000 structures, and completed half of them.

I’ll leave you with a quote by the architect himself that, for me, sums up the success and beauty of these two works especially:

Form follows function – that has been misunderstood. Form and function should be one, joined in a spiritual union.

Through the Ennis House gates you can see Los Angeles


38 thoughts on “Forever Celebrating Frank Lloyd Wright

  1. Hi Marina, I’m so glad you’ve marked this anniversary. He truly was a remarkable architect. I love the quote ‘form and function should be one’. I’m also glad you included the link to the blog post containing the photograph that started my blogging career, I enjoyed the post once again. Thank you. 😉

    • Hi Adrian! What a great quote that is – I am so glad you enjoyed it. And of course, I saw that empty gallery space as I scrolled through the blog post and thought of you! It’s lovely to note that moment 🙂 Congrats on sharing your love for photography with us since then! I have yet to see more of his works – these two buildings are standouts for me. Thank you!

  2. Hey Marina – I’m with Chillbrook – I love the quote “Form and function should be one, joined in a spiritual union.” There-in lies the challenge with design.

    Have a great weekend. 🙂

    • Wright did a pretty good job of it – I think the Guggenheim NY is an excellent example. Where else is such a rotunda used so very well? Especially in that exhibit I blogged about a while back – Cattelan’s exhibit ‘ALL’. They used the centre of the space! genius! Thanks Syders! have a great weekend too.

  3. I remember reading your blog about this museum! Happy belated birthday Frank Lloyd Wright! I love the last picture, great composition of the panorama of the city through the ornaments!

    • Hi Kristina! yes, that last picture is through the gates of the home. Can you imagine having such a beautiful gate, and a view of LA, and a house as masterfully built as that?! Thank you!

    • yes! the exteriors were shot on location but interiors reproduced! I am going to have to watch the movie again as I have a post I need to pull together on the Bradbury Building!Thank you!

  4. Marina…..As I’m cleaning out 3000 email notifications my eye caught your FLW post title and I just had to run over here! Bravo to you to celebrate his birthday with a lovely series of photographs! Each one is a gorgeous shot. I’ve not been to any of these buildings. But they are on my bucket list. I’ve seen the Ennis home in a book, and I was enthralled with the detail of the exterior. I love your shot through the gate! The Guggenheim, of course, is a must-see for me, too! But I’ve never been to NYC, even though I grew up in upstate NY! 😉 I hope to post Fallingwater soon. We saw it this spring. Thanks again for a great post!

    • Judy – 3000 email notifications? Wow! Where did they come from?! So glad you took a look at this post – it makes me so happy that you were able to take a look at it 🙂 The Ennis House is a real gem – and you must visit NYC (in fall! not as hot and humid) Great to hear from you!

  5. Pingback: Architects May Come, Architects May Go « Big Apple Dayze

Please Comment

