Presently being in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

One belongs to New York instantly; one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years. ~ Thomas Wolfe

I usually associate habits with something I need to break.

Thankfully, documenting my everyday is one less habit to worry about… because I have no intention of breaking it. (Though I do need to work on eating less pastry treats when I stop for a cup of coffee.)

I was thinking about my habit as I walked through Williamsburg today; my little Sony C in hand. Why is it that I find the ordinary so intriguing; that I have to photograph nearly every detail that grabs my attention? I came to the conclusion that a large part of it has to do with loving New York and the neighbourhood in which I live – this city is always alive and evolving.

Another part of it is because I know I won’t live here forever.

Creating a chronological account of days is like looking over a series of the mind’s flashbacks: a smiling chef grilling seafood at the local street fair; a graffitied door covered with posters; seeing a sunburst through a tree’s branches; the panoramic views of Manhattan from across the East River; the bright green leaves of a fig tree against a home of red brick. I don’t want to forget any of it.

As I sit here, having come home from an afternoon out in the sun, a thunderstorm rumbles. The rain is pouring down. The weather seems to change as frequently as the neighbourhood’s street art.

I hope you enjoy Sunday in Williamsburg!

~Deck chairs: East-River side. Looking out over the Williamsburg Bridge and the One World Trade Center Tower, to the right.

Here resides a community of cyclists, surfers, artistic workers…

… and skaters.

A series of paste ups cover erratic graffiti.

A typical street scene: garage storefronts alongside new condos, across the road from row houses.

A Fig Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

Musicians in the ‘hood.

Band, Cleveland Jones, fills Grand Street and its surrounds with the sounds of electric guitar and Lenny Kravitz inspired tunes. #love

Two victims, getting the movie star treatment by Gotham Fx, at the Grand Street Alliance ‘Grand Slam BBQ Battle’ Music and Food festival.

Apparently, the creation of a ‘look’ is all about cotton wool balls and gauze… and Hershey’s Syrup?

BBQ calamari.

A chilled out crowd. Happy days.

Homemade fresh mint lemonade – gone too soon.

Hangover cure anyone?

Longboards at Bustin Brooklyn.

A neighbourhood of body ink…

… of steel fences, industry, and blooms.

There’s always something to celebrate – even if it’s just ‘being.’

And I’ll continue to be present; to record those everday moments.

35 thoughts on “Presently being in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

    • Syders! Isn’t that such a happy looking flower?! It reminds me of a sunflower; it is growing in an area devoid of any other ‘prettiness.’ I love how such a bright bloom can instantly make one smile! Thank you. Happy Monday! šŸ™‚

  1. I like W-burg better and better…my son is NY for a week … What is a must see or do in Williamsburg?
    …again lovely captured scenes of life in the city.
    …Thomas is so right…Great quote.

  2. Hi Marina, Thank you so much for sharing Sunday in Brooklyn. The pictures are all really nice as always but a couple really stand out for me. The photo of the balloons I think is fabulous as is the photo of the daisie through the chainlink. Excellent pictures. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adrian! Those balloons actually made me nostalgic for what I will miss about Williamsburg one day. That’s when it hit me; what I wrote in the post is what I was reflecting upon at the time. Glad you liked this series – thank you šŸ™‚

  3. Another great street post šŸ™‚ Love it šŸ™‚ Looks so relaxed and arty, one of those lazy summer days šŸ™‚ And you are so right, we all move out of the big cities eventually and let the new generation have a time of their lives šŸ˜‰

    • Kristina, it will be a sad time to move away… but I know it is inevitable. The good times will continue somewhere else šŸ™‚ thank you for your lovely – and insightful – comment!

  4. What a fun neighborhood, Marina! I can relate about appreciating such little details every day. It’s the same thing my husband and I said while living in Heidelberg. We tried to walk up to the castle every morning because we knew we wouldn’t always be lucky enough to live in a spot with a castle peering down on us from overhead! šŸ™‚

    • Hi Tricia – that’s a great story about seeing the castle every day. The moments you reflect on are most always the happiest ones… and having alot of them means alot of lovely memories šŸ™‚ Thank you!

  5. Yet another great post! Love the colour and details in these…and great to see a part of you…although how you get around and take so many shots in such chic shoes intrigues me!! šŸ˜‰

    • Hi Shimon! Thanks so much – that’s very nice of you šŸ™‚ I’m more appreciative now also of both cameras actually, and I am grateful for that given my daily photography walks!

Please Comment

