The Weekend ~ Brooklyn, NY

This weekend New York City was graced with overcast skies, the rumbling of thunderstorms, humid temperatures, a little bit of a downpour, welcome breezes, and the intermittent bright rays of the sun.

Being Memorial weekend and pretty good weather for it, the crowds descended on Williamsburg to enjoy its wide open spaces, good food, and vintage shopping. I’m not sure what happened to the stalls when the rain came down at 4 on Saturday – I was indoors by then – though I’m sure the ‘burgers had a good time under it.

It’s a nice feeling, being outdoors so much during these warmer months… though I could do without the sticky humidity.

Happy day everyone!

Patriotism.

Loaves resting in the New Warsaw Bakery.

Plush pink roses.

Brunch at Lokal on Nassau Avenue.

A red balloon.

A dreamcatcher?

Beautiful butterfly ~ a symbol of long life.

Williamsburg and neighbouring Greenpoint are a hub for industrial activity.

Remember Vans, the sneakers?

A painted reality.

Manhattan through chain link fencing.

The Cuban sandwiches and yuca fries from Cubana Social are excellent as is the coffee to go.

The neighbourhood charmer.

Lazy days.

Ice cream at Smorgasburg – the season-long Saturday food event in Williamsburg.

A hungry little dog leading the way.

Cool new architecture along the way – was this a former garage, with new apartments on top?

Plant art.

Mushroom art.

Innovative wall art at Barcade…

A close up.

Any excuse for a street party.

Any excuse for another coffee, especially at Sweetleaf Espresso Bar.

Bikes of all sizes and heights.

What can I say? It’s a rosy kinda ‘hood.

Birds on a wire.

A nod to Memorial Day.

49 thoughts on “The Weekend ~ Brooklyn, NY

  1. a beautiful post, Marina, and I find that your photography is improving! There was much that I liked here, but the shot of the mushrooms was very well done.

    • Shimon, thank you! I am so happy you enjoyed it. The mushrooms were by a sidewalk and it was a challenge. Though, it makes the effort worth it when reading your comment πŸ™‚

  2. What do you mean remember Vans? – I have a teenager who won’t wear anything else!

    I think I want to live in that top apartment over the garage, and go and see the art installation at barcade… πŸ™‚

    • Syders – now you know where the factory is for Vans. Xmas, birthday, and any other gift – sorted! isn’t that an amazing looking apartment? I never noticed it before! And the wall art – I have noticed that many times and only just photographed it. I knew it would be something interesting for you πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

  3. Thank you for another nice stroll around the neighbourhood Marina! πŸ™‚ I love the mushroom picture especially oh and Manhattan through the chainlink but they’re all really nice as always. I look forward to these walks very much.

    • Thanks Chillbrook! I am so happy to read your comment. It’s funny that I can become fascinated with something like that cluster of mushrooms, growing by the sidewalk. Have camera, MUST photograph – well, that’s what it feels like sometimes.

    • The butterfly held quite the pose, and the mushrooms – I am sad to say that they are no longer thriving given the heat of the (summer) sun! I feel that apartment has hiked up prices even more in Williamsburg! πŸ˜‰ Thanks Jenny!

  4. “When the dreamer dies what happens to the dream?” Does it die or does it live on through someone else? Does the soul of the person embody someone to accomplish dream?Reincarnation? Interesting. I love the thought process of the question. Great visuals from a fellow Brooklynite!

    Cheers!

    • You have put a spin on the quote that does make it even more fascinating! I also like your questions on the interpretations. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos! It’s always fun to photograph the ‘burg! Thanks πŸ™‚

  5. I know what you mean now Marina… Brooklyn is gorgeous, I’m sure I can spend a whole weekend by myself just taking pictures… you did a great job by capturing the mood of the city πŸ™‚

    Happy Memorial day πŸ™‚

    • I hope you had a wonderful Memorial Day 2 Rivers. Brooklyn – such a large borough – has plenty to photograph. That said, I can’t wait to get back to Venice Beach and explore that area. I found work by a street artists there – FAILE – whose work I take pics of in Williamsburg, from where they are based πŸ™‚ Thank you!

    • Thank you so much! I encourage a visit and if you cannot get here soon enough, I’m happy to take requests of landmark/NY/Brooklyn photos-sights you may want to see.

  6. Marina, what wonderful observations, I loved the Mushroom “city”. As well “When the dreamer dies, what happens to the dreams” something to think about. Since I will be in New York next week, can’t wait to explore the city with my camer, have yuo bee at High Line Oark, of course you have, is it worth to visit? Have a great M.Day. Cornelia

    • Thanks so much Cornelia! The mushroom city was thriving under the thunderstorms; I noticed yesterday that it has disappeared. Absolutely visit the High Line. I have a couple posts about it on the blog, that you can type into the search button. It’s blooming at this time and just a wonderful addition to the West side of NYC.

    • You have such good eyes! That is a cute sign and it’s the first place I have seen to offer such a treat for the many furry residents in Williamsburg πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

  7. I love the wall art and the graffiti, well, especially the wall art. It’s really thoughtful art. Collecting things that we used to throw away and make something beautiful out of it. I really appreciate that kind of art. Great eyes on that Marina!

    • I love that you notice and appreciate the recycled materials – it is something I am trying to apply to my own life. there’s too much of everything in general and it does take up too much space. Innovation through reuse is cool, and even – different. Thank you Rob!

  8. These are just fabulous shots Marina – so vibrant and full of life! They really make the reader feel the bustling energy and vibe of a busy sunny weekend in your (awesome) part of the world. I can’t even pick a fave in this post. I do, of course, remember Vans…and according to my daughter are what all the ‘cool’ boys are wearing high school hallways. Some thinhgs never change, right?! xo! πŸ™‚

    • I haven’t noticed Vans in ages because I went to school… ah, too long ago! haha Glad you liked the post of the ‘hood. There’s always something new around here to be fascinated by. Even a bunch of mushrooms has me occupied for minutes at a time. Thanks so much!

  9. Great Images πŸ™‚ I am very interested in that Cuban place πŸ™‚ Sounds lovely πŸ™‚ I always prefer nice and quirky coffee shops to Starbucs πŸ™‚ I’d rather support small businesses πŸ™‚

    • Hi Kristina! The Cuban place has the best yuca fries! Their Cuban sandwich is good too πŸ™‚ And smooth coffee, of course. I have to say that Starbucks will continue having me as a customer now that they have introduced their ‘Clover’ machine. You can choose your coffee beans and a new machine presses them through a vaccuum for a nice brewed coffee. Not all stores have the machine, but i am sold on it. That said, I love all cafes too! AND I am all for supporting local πŸ˜‰

  10. Pingback: Versatile Blogger & Beautiful Blog Awards | Convergent Journey

Please Comment

