Calm before the Storm – NYC

Living in the calm of Williamsburg is something I try not to take for granted. The neighbourhood is located only minutes from Manhattan – by subway, ferry, or a walk over the Williamsburg Bridge; it is the yin to island’s yang.

With Memorial Weekend upon us however, I don’t expect the quietude of today to spill over to tomorrow. But long weekends are unpredictable and I could be proven wrong. We’ll see.

Until then, I captured some moments of the everyday. Enjoy!

NB: Take a read here about the meaning behind Memorial Day | Pearls & Prose. There are some lovely photos on this blog too.

Sleeping Vespas. On Berry Street

The Counting Room, slowly waking up. On Berry Street

The Brooklyn Brewery, preparing for the guzzlers. On Nth 11th Street

Fog unfurling over Manhattan. From East River State Park.

Pink pops sporting raindrops. In East River State Park

Storefronts, still asleep at 2pm. On North 8th Street

Closed for lunch but there’s a line up scheduled for dinner. On Union Avenue

Catching the sun’s rays. On Conselyea Street

All’s quiet on the Eastern front…. for now.

Note the Gehry inspired exterior. On Conselyea Street.

28 thoughts on “Calm before the Storm – NYC

    • Elena! Thank you, and how exciting! NY is quite humid right now and i quite like it πŸ™‚ Very tropical. Hope you may visit Williamsburg – it’s a quick trip from Manhattan’s Lower East Side or Union Square. or ferry from 34th Street. I recommend a Saturday for the Smorgasburg food stalls, or Sunday if you like a good flea market. Both markets are on the water, right near the water view I posted. Any Q’s, please do ask! Enjoy the trip!

  1. Hi lovely M! Went to Sake (in the Rocks) for dinner last night and were served by Christopher from Brooklyn! Serendipity! (Awesome restaurant, BTW. You must go next time you’re home, if you haven’t yet been). Raised a glass to you and Shira, as promised!

    My favourites today are the vespas and the happy pansies on Conselyea Street. Have a fab’ long weekend. πŸ™‚

    • How cool Syders – do you know what part of Brooklyn? I haven’t been to Sake but I love the Rocks and will put it in my mental bank πŸ™‚ Cheers back to you! The Vespas are becoming as popular as the bikes here πŸ™‚ have a lovely weekend too!

    • I welcome the quiet, Jenny – it’s busy enough to feel like a neighbourhood but not rushed! Really love that vibe πŸ™‚ Today, after a gloriously hot day, the rain came in the afternoon. Now the city is washed for tomorrow’s festivities! Glad you enjoyed!

  2. Hi Marina, Some lovely photos as ever. I really like the fog lifting over Manhattan, it’s a really nice composition with the empty picnic table adding foreground interest. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much Adrian! That’s the best view of Manhattan i think. Were the fog lifted, you’d see the Empire and Chrysler. I did photograph them today so will post soon πŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeous shots today Marina! Loving especially the picnic table and view with no one in sight for miles…
    Enjoy the holiday weekend! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Shira! That was a shot that i may not be able to duplicate until next week – I feel this long weekend will continue to be as busy as it was today! have a lovely weekend!

    • It is Barbara – sometimes it is nice to just look at Manhattan while enjoying a coffee by the water! Today, many many people descended on the little ‘hood… which is understandable. The weekends until end of summer will likely be like this!

    • I know Karen; I was thinking that my posts may have people thinking that maybe they are getting to know Williamsburg too well! But every time I walk through the ‘hood,I have to take a photo of something. I just love it. More where these came from πŸ˜‰

  4. I don’t know what it is about your street posts, but something really awakens nostalgia in me as if I’ve been there πŸ™‚ Maybe in my previous life I lived in NY? πŸ˜€

Please Comment

