(Nearly) Summer Lovin’ – New York City

Basking under the sun’s rays, lounging on the greenest of grass, sneaking in a little sweet indulgence, browsing through treasures at the local flea,Β  listening to the sounds of salsa…

If all the days of Spring and Summer could be like those that graced New York this weekend, I don’t think I’d ever want to leave the city. Here’s a taste.

Admiring nature’s elegant fringe.

Reclining in the great outdoors. Empire State Building, to the right.

Greeting the new espresso bar Sweetleaf to the ‘hood who lucked it with a perfect opening weekend. An americano, made with precision, accompanied by a cherry and chocolate scone – so worth it.

Walking through the Graham Avenue Fiesta in East Williamsburg.

Queueing up for sugary-sweet snow cones.

Browsing the stalls for garden inspiration.

Grooving to the tunes; dancing in the streets.

Now’s the time for hat shopping.

Catching some shade after a long sun soak.

Picture-worthy windows under the afternoon’s rays.

Visiting the delightful Sunday Brooklyn Flea Market.

Thinking ahead – gifts for Father’s Day (on June 16 in US).

Spotting adorable hand painted hanging art.

Rifling through trinkets and treasures.

Smiling over stuffed drawers of old photographs and postcards.

Wondering what stories these suitcases could tell.

Thinking up uses for these tiny bottles. Beads? Seeds? Potions?

Remembering the rotary telephone – now an antique showpiece next to the smartphone.

Hanging T’s against uptown views…

Williamsburg Bridge and New York’s tallest, One World Trade Centre, in Manhattan’s downtown.

Appreciating the best of both worlds.

Rotating street art points in the direction of home.

46 thoughts on “(Nearly) Summer Lovin’ – New York City

    • Thanks so much Joanne. Now would be the best time to visit – low humidity, warm days, pleasant temps. The Summer Solstice is a month away… not sure Summer will have the same feel as Spring πŸ™‚

    • Barbara, that is a really wonderful compliment. Thanks so much for it. At times I think I should photograph the city’s landmarks, but the reality would be that I’d be taking many photos of tourist lines. I’ll get to the landmarks soon!

  1. Wow, that indeed looks like a great day in Williamsburg, love the open sky compared to Manhattan! You captured it perfectly, hope for lots of summer days like that for you…

  2. Gorgeous photos! New York is definitely on my list of places to go, I’m thinking Spring time is definitely the time judging by your photos! πŸ™‚

    • Completely – a great idea to come in Spring. Summer is way to warm, and actually, it felt like summer today. Walking for a while under the sun can get hot! Enjoy planning your upcoming trip πŸ™‚ thank you!

  3. I always wanna go to a flea market. There seems to be a lot of interesting things to see and probably, to buy. Thanks for sharing this piece, Marina. Always love to read your opening-eyes-post. So, did you get anything from the flea market? πŸ™‚

    • There’s always alot to buy Rob – but the space! I need to conserve space πŸ˜‰ Glad you took a look at the post and did I get anything? Well, these photos! Thanks!

  4. Another great set Marina, I loved the trinkets and treasures shot, as a v young child I used to crawl around my grandpa’s shed where he had all sorts of treasure squirrelled away, a fond memory

    • That’s such a lovely memory to have – I am glad this image brought it back. I think it is why I love the flea – it reminds me of our garage sales in Sydney and I see furniture from the 80s era – furniture that I notice in old photos from when I was a kid. Thank you!

  5. Looks like you had a fun day! The first sentence is so teasing: listening to the sounds of salsa… it sounds so great and summery πŸ™‚ I am off to flea market this Sunday, I hope it will be as good as yours πŸ˜€

    • Good luck at your flea market on Sunday Kristina! And about the music – there was music from the car stereos, and there was music on the streets with the people dancing (I have a photo mid way through the post). It was a hot day – I got a bit of a tan! Enjoy the weekend – I wish you lots of success!

Please Comment

