Seasonal Details – Brooklyn, NY

If we only walk on sunny days, we’ll never reach our destination ~ Paulo Coehlo

Spring.

When greens and reds fill in winter’s blueprint. When it’s bright and sunny one day; overcast, humid, and sticky – the next. It’s when Williamsburg takes on a sense of the tropics. For me, this is reminiscent of holiday time in Fiji, just without the stretches of beach, the rainforest, and waterfalls. It’s a nice way of being. I like it.

I never really used to notice nor commit to memory the organic changes brought about by the seasons (so defined in the Northern Hemisphere); that changed once I started carrying around my camera. It’s as if by documenting the details I feel the season more.

Here are some of today’s scenes embedded in my photographic memory. I hope you enjoy!

*******************************************************************************************************

The return of the ivy covered wall. I love nature’s elegant way of elevating the beauty of brick-and-mortar.

Manhattan Ave, Williamsburg, Brooklyn

Streets are lined with window boxes and blooms.

The vibrant hues of their flowers make me think: pop art.

Where the ground was once bare or covered in leaves, spring brings with it fields of green. These may be weeds but their prettiness makes the walk home a lot lovelier.

A patterned fence: random yellow art makes me smile. It’s so much more pleasant to pause, appreciate, and photograph on these warm days.

Bikes are a big part of the Brooklyn lifestyle; recently, they seem to have trebled in number.

These jellyfish splotches are emblematic of spring for me; I have photographed them all around the ‘hood in the past few months.

Another seasonal symbol – the red rose; these flowers are thriving all over at this time of the year….

…as are hydrangeas. These ones are so squat, round, and blue hued.

Hot days mean sitting outdoors…

…  which means more reason to dine out.

There is one constant throughout the seasons however, and that is the neighbourhood’s rotating street art.

Cheeky and colourful, it’s Always Sunny in Williamsburg, no matter the time of year.

30 thoughts on “Seasonal Details – Brooklyn, NY

  1. Hi Marina, Its really greened up here over the last 2 weeks I’ve been away. The air was spectacular today, so I completely relate to what you are saying!
    Great images, I especially love the lushness and perspective of the first one.

    • his Karen! Isn’t the green so wonderful. It is like it happened overnight! I am so enjoying those ivy covered walls. I am glad you are back in the green :-). Thank you!

  2. you have some very bright and cheerful images of the coming of summer… and it is good to read of the increase in bikes in the neighborhood. Wishing you many pleasant days ahead.

    • Hi Shimon! yes, it’s akin to Amsterdam here – so many bikes. The photo i have below is just a sliver of the number in the neighbourhood. The summer is very humid here – the level we have now is much more desirable. We’ll see! I’ll document it for sure in the coming months 🙂 thank you!

    • Hi Shira! I am so loving the ivy. I took more photos yesterday and purposely pass a few buildings that have been greened up, just to admire them! The jellyfish are multiplying all over Williamsburg – I see them everywhere! Thank you!

    • Thanks Roger. Glad you liked that Corona shot – over the same space, I have seen two other street artworks rotate in a matter of a few months. It makes me appreciate these works even more as I have seen the guys painting from morning to night to get the artworks up on the wall. It’s definitely not work for the impatient.

  3. It’s so nice to see everything greening up. I really like the perspective of your first shot Marina, very nice but lovely photos all round as ever. New York soil must be quite acid to have such blue hydrangeas. 😉

    • Thanks Adrian, it is all greening up and I cannot get enough of ivy covered buildings. I am no gardener so cannot comment on the acidity of NY soil; I do know it has the best water to make pizza dough though 😛

    • Thanks so much Jenny! Those splotches are residents in Williamsburg – there’s a family breeding all over the neighbourhood 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed the photos Jenny! Always a pleasure to read from you. PS I am still thinking about those Parisian flower shots on your blog. So gorgeous!

  4. Seems like summer has finally arrived 🙂 I think it’s trying to get warmer here in London 🙂 I love the first shot, it’s very impressive 🙂 And it’s so true what P. Coelho said about the sunny days, we need a balance in our lives otherwise it just wouldn’t be worth living 🙂

    • I am loving the ivy covering everything so much kristina! Every day I could take a photo of something ivy covered! The quote is a wonderful reminder of appreciating the moments – I am glad you like it. Thank you Kristina!

Please Comment

