A Letter to New York

Dear New York,

Despite a weather forecast promising sun, I still love you, even with your overcast skies and a skyline shrouded in fog.

Seen from the site of Smorgasburg in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

I love you for those ‘blink and you’ll miss him’ celeb-chef photo opportunities.

An orange croc -toting Mario Batali against the Williamsburg Bridge, at Smorgasburg in Brooklyn.

For inspiring street art and producing talent like FAILE.

Custom made FAILE tiles adorn the exterior of a studio on 7th Street in Williamsburg.

I love you for your random photo opportunities.

A restaurant in the Meatpacking District, Manhattan

I love you for the grit and glam.

The Standard Hotel in the Meatpacking District

I love you for your spirit; your ability to rejuvenate, regenerate, and breathe life into the ‘old’ to make it new again.

Along the rehabilitated High Line; a public park on a former elevated railway line.

I visited the High Line last year; I wrote about it and photographed it during the Fall with my little Sony Cybershot. You can view more about this project here: Above it all: Manhattan’s High Line | Marina Chetner.

The railroad tracks of the High Line.

I love how well you wear the colour green.

At every turn, you give the community an excuse to caffeinate.

Drip coffee and ceramic cones

I love that you make yellow cabs look cool.

You make traffic stop; you halt passersby in their tracks…

… and give others a reason to pause and reflect.

I love how you decorate scaffolding to make it interesting enough to photograph.

A paste-up for the Tate Modern

You never cease to amaze with quirky installations.

I love you for your iconic landmarks.

Most of all, I just love you for being you.

Thank you, New York. You’ve got a fan, for life.

Much love, xoxo

High Line, seen from ground level

54 thoughts on “A Letter to New York

  1. Great post Marina.You know, they say that big cities like NY are all hustle and bustle and people are in a big hurry and don’t pay attention. But in fact I know of no other city than NYC where New Yorkers are more attuned to their surroundings. New Yorkers truly connect with the pulse of the city life around them. And they do pause now and again to admire the architecture, reflect in some little corner park, wonder at some detail or look (glancingly) at some very interesting person – the sounds, sights, smells – New Yorkers love their city unconditionally and with great awareness, and though Sydneysiders do come close, I can’t quite say that for any other place I’ve been.

    • Thank you so much. And, I agree Joanne; NY has so many spots where one can just stop and pause. For such a busy and built up city, there are alot of open public spaces to be utilised. Central Park and Riverside Park are two examples. It’s amazing how calm it is around Columbia University too. I haven’t been to another city as busy as NY – I cannot wait to go to Tokyo and Mexico City – so I will get back to you on that 🙂

  2. My sentiments exactly. You connect with your readers in such a personal way. Thank you for putting into words and photos how I, too, feel about New York City.

    daisy

  3. Excellent letter – a very deserving recipient! I always love your New York posts Marina – and craving a hot cup of pourover now!! 🙂

  4. Hi Marina – Your fabulous letter makes me want to hop on a plane (right now would be good!) and revisit our trip from last year. I loved visiting the High Line, and your pics are so much better than mine. I particularly love your pic’ of the ‘FAILE’ tiles – how cool are they?

    Thanks for another wonderful post. 🙂

    • Oh Syders, I am so glad you liked it! I will need to take some pics of the FAILE exterior as it is very cool. I have taken pics of the High Line on 3 separate occasions – this was my fave photo shoot as the park was so green and I think there were some new plantings. It is evolving as the committee is adding a new section… so when you visit NYC, you might see a completely different looking park. Thanks for reading my little letter 🙂

      • It’s an amazing initiative. I just loved it – the concept, the volunteers, the unique perspective onto the streets below and the sense of community. The only thing I can liken it to here in Syders are the curb-side community veggie gardens that are collectively being set up. They always make me smile. 🙂

      • I agree – the NY spirit is in full force with the High Line, and it has brought alot more people to 10th Avenue 🙂 Community gardens in Sydney – I can’t wait to see them. They are popular in LA too; there’s a large one outside Urth Caffe in Venice/Santa Monica. I’ll let you know when I am in Sydney!

  5. I’ve been in NY and Tokyo. NY’s image is more like a place for business although it has many cultural activities.

    Why don’t you share any skyscraper shots:) they’re worth admiring

    • HI! I cannot wait to experience Tokyo – I am so ready to go! Skyscrapers are included in my shots – did you not see the fog cover on the Empire State? 😉 I love architecture but I do look more to the ground/eye level, I guess.

  6. A really nice set of pictures Marina. Your love of New York comes through in every post you write about the city. As I’ve probably said before, you’ve made the city real for me and for that I’m grateful.

    • Thanks Ines! Re: your question – that’s too hard. I will try and pick one area: downtown. This includes: the Lower East side (love its cafes and restaurants), West Village (gorgeous stores and cute streets, and it is located near the Meatpacking District), Soho (next to the touristy Broadway you can find streets that are so quiet, you wouldn’t know it!) and across from all this – over the east River – is Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Ah! That was hard.

  7. Ahh that’s really sweet 🙂 I think everyone should write a post about the city they love 🙂 I especially love those coffee cups and the installation! Very cool 🙂

    • That installation was something I stumbled upon walking back to the subway! So cool, right? Glad you liked the post, and maybe you’ll write a letter about your town in Lithuania? Or about London? Thank you!

Please Comment

