The Manhattan Tourist, NY

It’s fun being a tourist.

Everything that seems so ordinary at home suddenly takes on the extraordinary when experienced in new surroundings. There’s always an excuse to take yet another photo of a streetscape, the same landmark (twenty times over, from different angles), that artfully presented dish or the elaborately prepared cocktail.

Yet, after having indulged in such a fresh and exciting palate, a return to the routine might take on that stale feeling of ‘sameness’. That which you found fascinating over there doesn’t seem so fascinating here.

Luckily, inspiration is never far away especially when looking outwards with a pair of tourist-inspired eyes. Taking a break as a traveler in your own backyard is such a good way to rekindle a bit of that spark that naturally accompanies pleasure-travel.

Everything really does seem new again.

Enjoy these tourist snaps on a very warm and sunny day in 75F Manhattan.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Not a tourist.

Ubiquity on Broadway: yellow against Gray’s.

Daily subway reading.

Peter Woytuk’s art installation along Broadway

Break-time at Zabars

Taxis and delis on Broadway.

The corner shop deli.

Advertising mecca.

Birds. And another Peter Woytuk.

Delivery bikes.

Wrong way.

Globalisation in Greenwich.

A Village mainstay.

Seinfeld-ian roots.

Colour pops and patios.

Italian coffee and Fruta de Bosco at Cafe Dante.

Wall art.

Shadows and fire escapes.

Basketball.

Not basketball.

Pavement art.

Cushions, umbrellas, a tattoo?

Downtown dodging.

55 thoughts on “The Manhattan Tourist, NY

  1. Gosh, from the upper west side to the village… The two greatest cities in the world are Sydney and New York. And here I am stuck in LA! Your images give me a much needed fix of New York. Now all I need is some coffee, rye bread, and coffeecake from Zabars. Wonderful pics. Thankyou!

    • Joanne – we can swap LA and NY for a while if you want! I love LA! Zabars is great isn’t it – especially around holiday time. Foodie’s delight! Thanks so much, glad to have brought back some memories!

    • I feel like I make new discoveries every few moments when I get into tourist-mode. When company is in town, I do feel like I need to entertain ‘lines’ for landmarks. Definite touristy stuff though that’s what it’s all about. Thanks!

    • Thank you so much Lois, I am glad you could feel that. Today was again, one of those days when I thought, “Gosh, this city really is so inspiring.” Springtime could have something to do with it – everyone was out and about!

    • Oh, where are you based? Australia? These were taken around lunchtime in NYC today so I’m glad that you viewed them in a parallel time-universe (if that makes sense!) Thank so much!

      • Brisbane, Australia and our favourite city in the whole world is NYC. I really enjoy your photos and your blog. Love the California shots too. Great work πŸ™‚

      • Thanks so much! Glad you enjoy the blog and happy that I bring a bit of NYC into your day πŸ™‚ I really love QLD and I am overdue for a trip to Brisvegas πŸ™‚ A NY post is coming up – hope you like it!

  2. Some really succesful pix here Marina….and some great strap lines to go with them, which is an art in itself. ‘Colour pops and patios’, ‘..yellow against Grays’..
    Coool….
    (and send me a slice of that Fruta de Bosco.)

  3. Lovely photos Marina. Living in a major tourist destination, you so frequently lose sight of what it is everyone is coming to see. You so clearly haven’t. Your eyes are as wide open as if you’d just got off the plane. Thanks for sharing that. πŸ™‚

    • There’s nothing more exciting for me than getting off of that plane. There’s that feeling of expecting the unexpected. It is easy to forget to keep eyes wide open but when you remember, it is so gratifying! I am glad you liked the photos – a sliver of NY! Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚

    • I am happy to hear it Fergiemoto – I loved taking them! NY is always changing but the ambiance and atmosphere is always there – the buzz, the energy. I will definitely be sharing more NYC! thanks!

  4. I can feel the warmth on my shoulders and the intrigue of the city. All the people in the photographs really help a viewer to insert themselves into the spaces. Great images!
    I’m dying for a cup of good coffee and a slice of cake! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Karen! New York was blooming – with its people! It was actually quite fun to take photos with people, for a change. And it was warm – ie, “I need the air-con” warm. I hope you got that coffee and cake πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much! Yesterday I just broke routine – and I became a tourist. It felt really good for a couple of hours! I noticed so much I don’t usually give a second glance. I am forever grateful for my hubby buying me my camera. πŸ™‚

  5. I only saw the images of NYC from magazines, movies, TV, etc. Some people have been telling me that NYC is the best place they’ve ever been to. It’s really amazing seeing the real NYC through your pictures! Btw I’ve watched some movies saying that Gray’s Papayas serve really good hotdogs. Is that right?

    • Hi Bama, I am so glad you found my blog and checked out NYC πŸ™‚ it is a wonderful city though to pick an all time favourite world city is hard. There is always something to do in NY. Gray’s are good, yes. I don’t eat hot dogs too often but they re better than most. Thanks πŸ™‚

    • Hi Eric! Did you mean ‘my eye’ not my ‘eerie’? I hope so as I don’t want to photos to seem eerie! Yes, NYC is amazing for the number of angles you can capture it from. There are so many neighbourhoods, so much activity, so many changes. I took a look at your blog. Cool photos – I like your eye! I am following it. Thank you!

  6. It’s cool to be a tourist in your own city, I like doing it in London πŸ™‚ Especially when I walk around with Charlie, I really feel like a tourist, because he takes me to places I’ve never been before πŸ™‚

    Lovely, casual shots. Loved taking a virtual tour with you πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing πŸ˜€ I just wish that cake wasn’t virtual πŸ˜€

  7. As always – so cool! You are right about fresh eyes – all you need is a day with your camera and a break in routine! I love ‘living’ and ‘visiting’ in New York with you! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Shira! There are so many angles to New York and just spending a couple of hours in the city reminded me of that. I wish I had stayed downtown longer – the energy was infectious!

  8. Love these photos Marina! Great patterns & lines in the 3rd shot, the break time shot has a wonderful classic feel to it, and i love the composition in the shadows & fires escapes shot… and Cafe Reggio – love that place!! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Jennifer! I am so glad to read this. Especially the one about the fire escape. I stood on the street, angling the building and the stair every which way, and finally crossed the road and shot the scene head on. I ended up quite liking it myself! I am glad you enjoy that image, and the others too. Especially if they may bring back some memories for you πŸ™‚

Please Comment

