70 and Sunny at the Lincoln Centre, NY

Lincoln Center is the world’s leading performing arts center, uniting 11 key arts organizations on one campus. After five decades of artistic excellence and service, Lincoln Center began an award-winning major transformation—now nearly complete—to fully modernize its concert halls and public spaces, renew its 16-acre campus, and reinforce its vitality for decades to come. ~ http://lc.lincolncenter.org

Whilst I’d been basking under SoCal’s rays, it seems the Lincoln Center was undergoing a grand refresh.

The last time my husband and I had visited the ‘old’ Lincoln Center was about five years ago, prior to our West Coast relocation. I’d bought tickets to see the epic, War and Peace; it was a way for me to reconnect and relive my Russian School days of reading the tome in Cyrillic. My husband, for completely different reasons, will never forget the 3-hour operatic experience. Since that time, I have only driven and walked alongside the space, but never really explored its ‘newness’. However, I could see a change.

On a recent 70-and-sunny day in the City (LA was under rain, so…), I spent an hour within the revitalised outdoor complex on the Upper West Side. Lines cut the space; glass filled in the gaps; steel was abundant. I was torn. I liked what I saw yet I couldn’t help but wish for the Center’s past. Despite there being some nostalgia associated with the design of yesteryear, I struggled to recall what it actually looked like. I just knew it was part of the New York that I fell in love with years ago.

What a strong reminder to pay attention to the details. I’ve learned my lesson.

Here I present those new architectural details mixed in with some of the original exteriors. Enjoy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Entering via Ronald P. Stanton Way.

This is Hearst Plaza, accessed by a set of stairs with a digital display of updated information. To the right,  the new Lincoln Ristorante – designed by Diller Scofifio + Renfro, it’s Italian menu is overseen by Chef Jonathan Benno.

The reflecting pool, home to Henry Moore’s Reclining Figure.

The Lincoln Center Theatre, host to War Horse.

Public Green Spaces. The Laurie M. Tisch Illumination Lawn…

…and tree-canopied Barclays Capital Grove.

The Met Opera Shop.

Reflections in The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.

Sculpted.

Framed by steel.

The top of The Juilliard School.

Lincoln Center’s Revson Fountain on Josie Robertson Plaza is considered one of the performing arts center’s most recognizable destinations for countless visitors from around the world…

The redesign by Diller Scofidio + Renfro in association with Beyer Blinder Belle and WET Design enhanced the Fountain with new technologies for special-effect water shows and gives this famous attraction the appearance of a floating granite ring.~lc.lincolncenter.org

It’s good to see that some peace in architecture reigns where the Russian opera was seen years ago.

Lights in the David A. Koch Theatre – scene of the Nutcracker at Christmas.

Divided. The Metropolitan Opera House to the left; Avery Fisher Hall – to the right.

The view towards Columbus Avenue.

Avery’s archways.

View from Columbus Ave. To the left – the 2,544-seat David H. Koch Theater reopened after a full renovation of the original 1964 Philip Johnson/John Burgee building. The interior work, by JCJ Architecture, was funded in major part by Mr. Koch and his gift of a cool $100 Million. ~ nycurbed.com, in 2009

Departing a bit of serenity in the midst of the daily rush.

49 thoughts on “70 and Sunny at the Lincoln Centre, NY

    • 5am – you’re up to celebrate Orthodox Easter aren’t you? Thanks for the comment so early in the morning. I wish I was there for longer than an hour because there is so much to capture – so maybe when I go book the next epic, I’ll do so. Night shots too! Have a great Sunday!

      • I am always on WordPress at 5am just in case I miss one of your posts……..or…………. I was dropping my parents to the airport so they can spend the next 3 months in Sicily(not bitter here). You can decide which of those options you prefer.

        As promised I Googled Russian Orthodox Churchs in Dublin and to my great surprise I discovered that I have been in one in the past and taken pictures. It is a gorgeous building. I had no real desire to attend mass there but I was very interested to read more about the Russian church in Dublin and its history. Once again you are inspiring further reading.

        I hope you make it back to the Lincoln centre soon. I can’t believe you got many great shots in just a short visit. The night shoot would be interesting. Have a nice sunday – I am going blue belle hunting.

      • Bring on Sicily! And I think you’ve just missed out on a very festive midnight mass. Maybe in 2013? Hope you had fun blue belle hunting 😉

      • I may give it a whirl next year, sounds interesting. As for the blue belles, I am guessing we are about two week early – weather here has been very odd of late – but the first rising shoots are showing that it might be a good year.
        [url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/okmqaz42/7080728073/][img]http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7119/7080728073_7f4bf0218c_n.jpg[/img][/url]
        [url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/okmqaz42/7080728073/]Bella[/url] by [url=http://www.flickr.com/people/okmqaz42/]okmqaz42[/url], on Flickr

  1. Hi Marinia, Thanks for the tour of the Lincoln Centre. Again a place I’d heard of but had no concept of. Great pictures. The second shot and the pictures of the fountain are my favourites. 🙂

    • I am so glad to have shared the images with you – I wish i had some before shots to share too 😦 The black and white felt right for the fountain as it brought out the shapes of the water more. I mentioned in a previous comment to Karen that these shots were experimental as I still new to architectural photography. It was definitely enjoyable – all those lines! Thank you!

    • Thanks so much Karen! I have wanted to photograph the space for some time, but was scared to! I finally decided to just take some time whilst i was on the Upper West Side. It is a little experimental so I am so grateful for your comment. I appreciate it alot!

      • Marina, I keep going back to look at these. Really impressive, especially for your short time there. The way the eye travels through the compositions is wonderful. The images are exciting!

      • Karen! Thank you so much – I really appreciate it. It’s so great to hear that the images are exciting – evoking emotion is something so powerful in photography, and I am glad to have captured some of that. I would love your critique on my latest post… I can take it! I am off to read your latest post!

    • Wow, that’s so cool that your husband is one of the architects. Which firm does he work for – if you don’t mind sharing that (or what part is he working on)? Let me know what he thinks of the photos. I would be so grateful for his tips! Thank you!

      • I didn’t get to see the bridge except for the 2nd past shot I took – I believe that is part of it. You should definitely take a look – it’s a different space. Do you or your husband know where I might access shots of the ‘old’ Lincoln Center? Thanks!

      • The bridge is very new. I think it was installed only about two weeks ago or so. The night they did it was rainy, dreary and not nice out. I am not sure where you could find shots of the “old” Lincoln Center, but it would be interesting to contrast the before and after. Let me ask my husband if he knows where you could find some and I’ll get back to you.

      • Thanks – I tried to search for some on the Net and only managed to see two blurry ones. I look forward to hearing back. good luck to your hubby on the job!

    • Thank you so much Lois, that’s really kind of you. I just checked with my husband, and the meter was set for 50 minutes actually. So yes, I took them in less than an hour. An online guidebook – maybe that is in my future?!

    • Thanks so much Tricia! I did take a couple more abstract versions but I liked this one as it showed the context. He does look ready to pounce 🙂 This Easter I lived vicariously through my family in Sydney!! did you celebrate?

      • No Easter egg coloring this year, but we did go on the lookout for the Easter German fountains in Bavaria, and also visited with longtime German friends. Hope your week’s off to a super start!

      • Wow, it’s sizzling there!

        Come to Bavaria in the summertime – Germany has lots of grey, cool, damp weather that’s usually left nature’s stage by the time May and the summer months roll around. It’s so chilly here now – makes me miss sizzling SE Asia!

        Will keep you posted of our next destination – it might be a familiar one in the States, and then off to? 🙂

    • Thanks Jennifer! I was high on lines in the Lincoln Centre space. That’s so kind of you to comment on re: composition as I was trying to capture the feel of the place without compromising too much on the scope of the architecture. I am glad you like that 7th image – it just felt right! Thanks 🙂

  2. I can see that NYC has as much mixed architecture as London 🙂 I like the contrast of old and new as long as it’s well balanced, but I still prefer the old architecture to the new one 🙂

    • It’s a compromise isn’t it? What is old is sometimes new again… or replaced with new. A sign of changes as we move forward into the future 🙂 I need to get to London. have you been to Hackney? Apparently it is like Brooklyn…

Please Comment

