Love for New Beginnings

This post is symbolic of a fresh start.

A Rockrose Grows in Laguna Beach, CA

I am moving in a new direction with my career; a foray into the bountiful world of travel writing and travel photography. My love for media: magazines, books, the Internet, and (travel) shows is unwavering – as well as indulging in them, I hope to be writing for them soon.

I’m signed up with Matador Network so over the next couple of months I’ll be doing a whole lot of learning, reading, writing, and snapping. One of the requirements was to create a blog for coursework submissions; if you’d like to critically comment on my words, here’s your chance!

Breathing Travel | Documenting the journey (or http://marinac.matadoru.com/ )

I’ll continue blogging from here with updates; it’s where the ‘push’ happened after all.

I cannot wait for the journey ahead.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did… so throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. ~ Mark Twain

At Griffith Observatory, LA, CA

98 thoughts on “Love for New Beginnings

    • Thank you so much – I appreciate your comment! I love the blog 🙂 Nothing new on the other site now as I just set it up… BUT will keep you posted as I don’t think the matadoru.com blog allows for subscribers? So I’ll use this one to keep you up to date. Thanks again!

  1. This sounds like a fantastic journey for you, Marina! A great big congratulations!
    I’m truly thrilled for you and can’t wait to see all your new work, you are amazing already!
    Best wishes. XX
    K

    • Thank you Karen, so much! You’re so inspiring and I am grateful for your support always! I just need to remember to embrace with the ‘moments’ as I take on this journey. I’ll keep you updated as I go along. Thank you again!

  2. Congratulations Marina! Your blog has shown very clearly, that you have a real talent for this kind of work. Your commentary and photographs have made New York real for me and your latest posts from SoCal have left me wanting more. I have no doubt that you’ll be very successful and I look forward to your bulletins and updates. 🙂

    • Adrian! You’re such a huge support – knowing that I made NY and SOCal come alive for you is a huge compliment. I want people to feel travel and I am glad I accomplished some of that through my posts. I hope you’ll be a critical eye in my upcoming coursework! Thank you so much!

    • I agree, it is my absolute dream job. And to think my dream job as a kid was to be a travel agent (I did become an agent though wanted to go on the holidays I was booking!). Thank you!

  3. I read your post and felt so excited for you. Congratulations on this new adventure, Marina! Keeping things going in both places can be challenging so just post a link every now and then, I’m sure that works for most.

    Looking forward to continuing the adventure with you!

    • Ray, I think you’re right. I do love sharing through blogging and with this new career direction – they go hand in hand – so will post as much as possible! I would love to hear your thoughts on my work. Thanks so much for your support always!

  4. Amazing Marina – so impressed by this! If anyone is perfect for this – it’s you! Way to go in the direction of your dreams…..so inspiring! xo! 🙂

  5. Congratulations! I would wish you luck but know that your work speaks for itself so you don’t need it! I look forward to keeping up with your progress! I feel a trade wind!!

  6. How exciting! Congratulations 🙂 No better time like Spring for a new beginning, I wish you all the best and will stay tuned on the new blog.

    • Thank you Ines! I think the same – Spring is great for new beginnings! I’ll definitely keep you posted, on both blogs! I look forward to exchanging ideas on photography 🙂

  7. This is just way too exciting 🙂 Congratulations and I wish you every success, as I said before your writing is flawless! I am looking forward to reading your new posts on your Breathing Travel blog 🙂
    I love the quote, it is so true, it’s better to try and do things than just wonder what if… 🙂 I am reading The E-myth book at the moment and it says that ”great businesses are not built by extraordinary people, but by ordinary people doing extraordinary things” and you can easily adapt this to everyone’s life and career choice 🙂 Good luck with your studies! 🙂

    • Kristina! Thank you! That quote is one that I read so long ago… and it just rang so true to me. I kept repeating it over and over and over! It’s a good one. I am looking to tackle the extraordinary and would love your critique on my work. That said, I am also hopeful for you to start your business in skincare. I look forward to hearing news on that. thanks for your support!

  8. Pingback: Breathing Travel: A Simple and Savvy Start… | Marina Chetner

    • Jennifer – thank you so much! I hope you may join me on this journey – it’s exciting taking steps in this direction and I hope we can exchange experiences! Thank you 🙂

  9. Yippee, Marina! This is fantastic news. It seemed like just yesterday that we were swapping camera specs, as I first embarked on my Asian sabbatical.

    Your foray onto this new path is inspiring — all the best!!

    • Tricia – thanks so much! I am just quickly editing my current post and noticed your comment 🙂 The photos in my latest post on ‘Travel Tips’ were taken with my little Sony Cybershot – I cannot believe it was only a year ago that I was using it. The new camera is something I am eternally grateful for. I hope we can continue sharing experiences when you embark on your next journey. Where will that be to? So great to hear from you! We’ve been blogging alongside from the start haven’t we?!

      • Amazing how fast time zips by!

        We’re not certain where we’re off to next after we leave Europe. Perhaps a visit to the United States, and then a “mental sabbatical” destination (as opposed to the fast-paced sabbatical we were just on). As you complete your Matador homework, perhaps you’ll come across one. Our prerequisites are: quiet, inspirational scenery & people, reasonable cost of living. I’m thrilled with the possibility of returning to Asia, but we shall see!

        Again, so excited for you. 🙂

      • Yes, if I hear of anything, I’ll definitely let you know. Though I can think of a few places already and they have to do with the South Pacific islands near Australia. I think you should also consider NZ for scenery – it is close by to the South Pacific too. I’m off to read your latest post!

    • Shimon, thank you. I am learning alot already and just posted about travel equipment and ‘wish list’. I’d love to know your comments on what works for you as I enjoy your photos.

Please Comment

