Impressionist-inspired Laguna, in memory of Vincent van Gogh

Happy Birthday Vincent van Gogh ~

Having just returned from a visit to the US West Coast, I’ve been looking through my photos and was inspired to pay homage to the great Dutch post-Impressionist artist (30 March 1853-29 July 1890) by sharing with you one of my favourites.

Let me preface this by way of a bit of an explanation:

Van Gogh’s most notable works were painted after he’d discovered the works of the Impressionists in Paris, around 1886. Subsequently, he left for the south of France in hopes of establishing a community of artists in the city of Arles.

Captivated by the clarity of light and the vibrant colors of the Provençal spring, Van Gogh produced fourteen paintings of orchards in less than a month, painting outdoors and varying his style and technique. ~ metmuseum.org

It was during this time that he produced a number of masterpieces including Still Life: Vase with Twelve Sunflowers (1888), The Cafe Terrace on the Place du Forum, Arles, at Night (1888), Starry Night Over the Rhone (1888), Arles: View from the Wheat Fields (1888), andΒ Still Life: Vase with Oleanders and Books. The latter may be viewed at NYC’s Met Museum of Art.

In the same vein, Laguna’s art scene evolved primarily during the early 1900’s, when artist Norman St Clair moved to the area and attracted an artist-following. Influenced by French Impressionism, the community became known as the ‘open air school’ as they found inspiration in the midst of Laguna’s landscape – rugged terrain, wild colourful flora, sunlight, and sweeping ocean vistas.

This is a photo I took of the fog unfurling over the Pacific Ocean, near Laguna’s Crescent Bay Point Park. In the background, the bark of seals could be heard though they were a sight unseen; a view obstructed by the thick mist and uneven rocky faced cliffs.

It was one of the most beautiful moments of the trip, and I hope you’ll enjoy the image.

If you hear a voice within you that says “you cannot paint”; by all means paint and that voice will be silenced. ~ Vincent Van Gogh

45 thoughts on “Impressionist-inspired Laguna, in memory of Vincent van Gogh

    • It is a beautiful spot Roger, and I don’t have any crazy encounters to share. I do appreciate the line, “There’s a fine line between insanity and genius. ” πŸ™‚ thanks!

  1. Absolutely beautiful. I have been to Laguna many times and have taken many pictures there. However, I have never seen a photo like yours. The colors are so vibrant and the fog only takes up a small portion of the picture.

    • Thank you so much Karen – that’s such a lovely comment to read from you! I didn’t know how the fog would turn out in the photo, and the image became a favourite. I have a few more mysteriously eerie shots to share; I look forward to your feedback on them. Thanks again!

    • Thank you! It was a wonderful moment, and created for such a mysteriousness. I was so intrigued by the fog and how the images would photograph, that I’m going to do a post in dedication to it. Your Fog post was very inspiring and I’d like to thank you for that πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Shira! The seals were teasing; I never saw them but we heard them barking beneath the mist. They must have been hiding in one of the alcoves. It was so cool. When you spend so much time living in an urban environment, being part of scapes like these feels surreal.

  2. Happy Birthday Van Gogh! I love his work! You seem to know a lot about arts, is it just a general interest, a hobby or something more than that? The quotes you post are always so meaningful and inspirational πŸ™‚

    The picture is absolutely gorgeous, fog always looks so mysterious. The water is so crystal clear, reminds me of my time in St Ives πŸ˜€

    • Hi Kristina! I have so much more to learn about the arts though appreciate it alot. For me, art goes hand in hand with travel. I have spent alot of time in museums, looking art works, and dreaming of travel. Especially when I see Egyptian artifacts. I would like to learn more formally but for now, I rely on books, art spaces, and the internet. Thanks so much for your comment about the photo – I am glad you like it! I hope it inspires your future US itinerary!

      • Egyptian arts inspired me since I started learning about the Egyptian civilisation at School! I always admired its beauty, until now their arts are something amazing, unearthly and alien to me πŸ™‚ I love art too, but I can’t write about it as flawlessly as you do πŸ™‚ To be honest, all your posts inspire me to travel to US πŸ™‚

      • Thank you Kristina; that’s such a compliment about my writing! Though I need to compliment you back – I cannot write as you do about natural recipes for skin and hair. You have a great enthusiasm for it and it shows – I hope to see you as a successful entrepreneur soon.

  3. Pingback: Misty Morning « Cornwall – A Photographic Journey

Please Comment

