It’s Always Sunny in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

It is true that nothing is permanent; that some things are more temporary than others. As for moments – well, they are altogether fleeting.

After a period of hibernation, blooms symbolise the start of a warmer season. Their pinks, yellows, greens, purples, and whites brighten a landscape that may have at one time looked wintry bare. The sun may shine today, adding warmth and a zest indicative of an upcoming spring. But, what of tomorrow? (The weather channels have been proven wrong many times…)

In some parts of the world however, the streets are always splashed with colour, regardless of the day or the season. Williamsburg’s street art may be temporary, but it is always there. In an urban landscape constantly undergoing change, what you see one day may be gone – or replaced – the next. Nevertheless, the artwork persists; every piece the product of an expressive soul who is part of a creative, fearless, and diverse community.

I am reminded of how lucky I am every day when I walk within the neighbourhood’s maze of murals, paste-ups, graffiti, words, stencils, and paintings. Even a passing glimpse of colour through the car window can bring about a change in mood, attitude, or an aside to a conversation.

I hope you’ll get to see this part of Brooklyn soon. Until then, enjoy this curation– some of the artworks are old, some are new, and some are no longer in existence.

If we only walk on sunny days, we’ll never reach our destination ~ Paulo Coehlo

Develop interest in life as you see it; in people, things, literature, music – the world is so rich, simply throbbing with rich treasures, beautiful souls and interesting people – simply forget yourself ~ Henry Miller

The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see ~ G.K. Chesterton

Every day has the potential to be the best day of your life ~ Lin-Manuel Miranda

But how could you live and have no story to tell? ~ Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Life has become immeasurably better since I have been forced to stop taking it seriously ~ Hunter S. Thompson

Faith is taking the first step even when you can’t see the whole staircase ~ Martin Luther King Jr.

All the flowers of all the tomorrows are in the seeds of today ~ Indian Proverb

70 thoughts on “It’s Always Sunny in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

  1. M – great post. Thanks! We were in NY last October and didn’t make it to Williamsburg. I am regretting that after seeing your fab’ pics. I guess we’ll have to come back again… Love the Hunter S.Thompson quote.

    • Thank you! Toby’s Estate has moved into Williamsburg recently – a Aussie cafe-roaster – and I hear Aussie accents around all the time! Next time put the neighbourhood on the TO DO list. Cross the Williamsburg Bridge from Chinatown, and you’ll be right in the neighbourhood. Great views of Manhattan from here too – I’ll leave that for another post. HST quote is so comforting to read!

      • A hint for our dear friend in Sydney – Marina says Toby’s has toast & avocado…
        And PS, what’s the deal with you Aussies being so awesome? 🙂

      • Thanks Marina! I am the Wholesale Manager for the company (and part owner there are a few of us with shares) – we have 10 stores and supply a lot of restaurants, cafes, hotels, etc! I am dying for an account in NY but no luck yet 🙂 One day though! We work with an amazing architect – he’s very good!

      • Fantastic! The interiors are so well lit – there’s something about BC! I think you need to OPEN a location in Brooklyn. There’s quite a few roasteries here already! Great stuff Shira, I am going to look at the website in more depth again.

      • Trust me Marina – I would soooo love nothing more! A legit reason to move to the best city in the world? A dream of mine for sure…maybe some day! Let me know what you think when you have a closer look, each location is designed to be unique – to fit each neighborhood….they are all different! xo

  2. You are indeed very very lucky Marina to enjoy such a rich environment that is very stimulating and inspiring (judging from your always enjoyable blog!)! I love the photos as always and love the quotes today too! 🙂

    • Thanks Shira! It is a cool neighbourhood and they serve avocado on toast here too – at an Aussie cafe, Toby’s Estate! Next time, you need to visit! Quotes are one of my fave things – so succinct! If you’re running low, I have a series of ‘Inspiration’ posts that are chock-a-block full of wise words. Always good to lift the spirit.

      • MMM, yum! My next visit – for SURE – hope that’s sooner rather than later, we are in France this summer so it won’t be until the fall at least! Would love to share your quotes! They never end and the inspiration is endless, (really it’s crazy!) 🙂

      • France = awesome! Can’t wait to read about that! I love quotes so much and I agree, endless inspiration. There are about 10 posts with quotes so whenever you’re short (which is probably never), you have a go-to 😉

      • Thanks will do! Yep – we are planning a 3 week trip with the kids starting with a week in Paris..
        I’m (just a little) excited!!
        Thanks Marina!!

      • We missed Versailles last time so it is on the list for SURE – will be stoked to take those photos! I am prepping by eating the odd croissant here and there.it’s painful…a future post on outsourcing – hehe! 🙂 Have a fab evening in Williamsburg *sigh* would love to be there!

      • Shira – this comment went into span. I am just reading it and am so glad to hear that not only is Versailles on the list, but croissants too. Love them – especially when I come across one that is really well made.

  3. I’ve been lurking here a little while and always enjoy the photos, but this post’s combo of pictures and words is just excellent — also, half of this ephemera will gone in weeks, so it’s a great moment in time

    • Very clever use of property isn’t it?! It’s an outdoor museum here. I haven’t done a post of the neighbourhood though I have feature its street art over a few posts. I might do a tour though if you need some suggestions before that happens, let me know! Thanks!

  4. I love how the art is always changing. It’s like it has a life of it’s own.
    It must be fun to make new discoveries every time you go out into your neighbourhood! Always something to catch your eye. Subtle or obvious. A vibrancy.

    Great images Marina, and I agree with Stuart on the scooter/ toxic guy picture! A great find. 🙂

    • Thanks Karen! Yes, that ‘toxic’ guy is a new artwork – I hadn’t seen it before yesterday. The art is something I have come to expect to see in the streets of Williamsburg so I have to remind myself that it isn’t like this everywhere – it is so novel isn’t it? Whether you look closely or just at the surface, there’s always something to entertain.

  5. It’s fun the way the street art is always changing. Something new each time you wander the neighbourhood. I went back to Hosier Lane in Melbourne the other day and there were only two art works the same from my previous post 3 months earlier! Love the bright colours!

  6. Great post as ever Marian 🙂 I love the picture of the guys working on the mural. Phenomenol piece of street art taking shape before your very eyes. Amazing. The quotes are great. I particularly like the Henry Miller quote. It’s all to easy to become introspective and self-absorbed, a sure fire route into depression.

  7. Awesome arts! And awesome-er quotes! They remind me to live my life to the fullest and enjoy things that I love 🙂 Aah, I wish I’d get the chance to travel to the other end of the world..

  8. Pingback: Seasonal Details – Brooklyn, NY | Marina Chetner

  9. Pingback: Midday Scenes ~ Brookyln, NY | Marina Chetner

Please Comment

