Not Another Valentine’s Day Post ~ Black and White Inspiration III

Every day should be Valentine’s Day. Sounds like a cliché? Maybe, though you might just find some truth in this sentiment. Enjoy ~ with love.

Love is life. And if you miss love, you miss life. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Milano, anni Cinquanta, 1950 ~ Photograph by Mario De Biasi

The aim of life is to live, and to live means to be aware, joyously, drunkenly, serenely, divinely aware. ~ Henry Miller

Scott Pommier

I want to know you moved and breathed in the same world with me. ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo in San Angel, 1940

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life. ~ Pablo Picasso

Picasso and the loaves, 1952 ~ Photograph by Robert Doisneau

To love someone deeply gives you strength. Being loved by someone deeply gives you courage. ~ Lao Tzu

Joanne Woodward showed off her Oscar statue with husband Paul Newman by her side at the Governor’s Ball in 1958

I have found that if you love life, life will love you back. ~ Arthur Rubinstein

Motion, 1930 ~ Photograph by Andreas Feninger

Love is the flower you’ve got to let grow. ~ John Lennon

Andy Warhol ~ Photograph by Dennis Hopper

I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best. ~ Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe in New York City, 1957 ~ Photograh by Sam Shaw

The most important things in life aren’t things. ~ Anthony J. D’Angelo

Seagulls ~ Photograph by chillbrook via space1eleven.wordpress.com

The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it. ~ Henry David Thoreau

New York City, February 1954 ~ Photograph by Andreas Feininger

Don’t ask yourself what the world needs; ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive. ~ Howard Thurman

James Dean in NYC ~ Photograph by Dennis Stock

There is only one happiness in life — to love and to be loved. ~ George Sand

Wedding Day ~ Photograph by Antony Schuster

The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and let it come in ~ Morrie Schwartz

Round Tower, Copenhagen ~ Photograph by Robert Floerke

Love does not consist of gazing at each other, but in looking together in the same direction. ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery

44 thoughts on “Not Another Valentine’s Day Post ~ Black and White Inspiration III

    • Thanks Jenny – it was fun to curate and I hope you enjoyed those from the Golden Age of cinema 🙂 They are just so cool – I love knowing that I’m living in a city where such photos were taken. I feel that the the allure of b/w photos is their mystery; I don’t think I’d enjoy them as much in colour!

  1. Awesome post and quotes, Marina! I’m a bit of a hopeless romantic, always been, and always will be, so these certainly appeal to that side of me. But I must just add that I luckily ( as it kinda sucks if you don’t have an actual Valentine) completely forgot about Valentine’s day this year. Anyway, hope you had a great one!

    • JP – every day should be Valentine’s Day; life is love and v.v. You’ve been sharing your love of art and photography through your wonderful posts, and that’s a powerful thing. So thank you for that, and I’m glad you enjoyed these!

  2. This is a bit like browsing the old family albums Marina, remembering bygone times.
    A lovely way to reflect all those we know, but never met.
    James Dean, hardly a portrait, but you instantly know who he is. Wonderful. The image of Picasso proves what I always say, there is no need to pose to get a stunning photograph.
    Lovely Marina, thanks for these.

    • Can you imagine owning such a family album, Val? How fabulous would that be?! I am glad I can share such a thought through these posts! That Picasso image was quite the find – I think it is so clever. Old Hollywood stars lend themselves so well to b/w photos – I just love them. Thanks for enjoying it!

  3. From the very first post in your black and white series Marina, you’ve been providing us with images that really do inspire us to think seriously about black and white when we’re out taking photographs. It is such a powerful medium. ‘Seagulls’ came out of that and it was very generous of you to include it amongst your choices for this post. I look forward to many more posts in this series. Thank you 🙂

  4. Beautiful and inspirational!! 🙂 I love the quote ‘I have found that if you love life, life will love you back’, I like saying ‘Love your skin and it will love you back’ 😀 have a lovely Wednesday and I agree that everyday should be Valentine’s day! 😀

    • Thanks Kristina! I am so glad you liked it and glad you shared that quote with me. I am trying to look after my skin with rest and water – like one of your posts advised. Maybe that “Love your skin” quote will be a good tagline for your future business?!

    • I am so glad that you left me this comment as that is why I like curating these posts; to think about moments and what makes life so important. I am so happy to share these words and images with you in the one space – thank you!

    • Thank you Lois! I completely agree with you about that quote – sometimes we need to be reminded of such a perspective, which is why I like curating these posts. It’s a gentle nudge, for me at least.

Please Comment

