Night and Day: Lasting Impressions of Atlantic City

“The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see.”           ~ G. K. Chesterton

A wintry escape from New York’s hustle and bustle. Watching the night lights flicker from the 93rd floor of the Trump Taj Mahal. Floor-to-ceiling views. Indulging in gastronomic delights – champagne, oysters, tiramisu, limoncello – at Il Mulino. Playing poker, blackjack, and baccarat in plush surroundings: crystal chandeliers, gilded ceiling mirrors, exquisite mosaics. Opulence and hedonism.

Waking up to a spectacular sunrise over a never-ending stretch of the Atlantic Ocean. Sipping on a cup of freshly brewed coffee. Impatient to go outside and feel the cool wrap of winter’s breath. Catching the sun’s warm rays on a Boardwalk bench. A faultless day: blue skies, marshmallow clouds, a gold sun. Breathing in the refreshing sea air. An oxygen high. Boardwalking a mile there; a mile back. Photographing reflections, grassy sand dunes, puffed-up seagulls, lonesome pushing trolleys, architecture from another era. Seasonal food kiosks standing empty, for now. Chewing sticky ‘salt water taffy’ is sweet, sour, and yes, salty.

Dark clouds brewing in the distance. Seeing how the other half lives. Inspired by civil rights. Driving up and down the deserted Atlantic Avenue. Lusting after glorious Victorian houses along the way. Dreaming of ways to relocate for a week…. or four. Coming face-to-face with the larger than life, Lucy. Marveling at the beauty of the ocean’s shoreline. The gentle lap of waves. A flock of seagulls. Nostalgic for Sydney’s Pacific Ocean. But, I have the Atlantic. AC, I’m glad you’re only a few hours away from NY.

Taj Mahal’s Chandeliers

Outside looking in – Il Mulino’s kitchen @ Trump Taj Mahal

Slots

Boardwalk and benches

In the clouds

Reflections

A seagull’s point of view

Grassy dunes

Empty kiosks

Taffy

A pushing trolley, going solo

The streetscape directly behind the Boardwalk

The Civil Rights Garden

Neighbourhoods in disrepair behind the Boardwalk

Overcast, for a moment

Lucy – the world’s largest elephant

A well-fringed shoreline, further down from the main part of the Boardwalk

Coming and going – a pathway off of the Boardwalk


36 thoughts on “Night and Day: Lasting Impressions of Atlantic City

  1. Hi Marina, That sounds like an idyllic break from the metropolis. Nothing like that sea air. Your photograph of the ‘pathway off the boardwalk’ is so nicely composed, the colours are gorgeous, it’s a really lovely photograph. Sounds like you were having a great time. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    • Hi Adrian! Thank you – it was a lovely escape and today I woke up, missing the ocean 😦 Thanks for the compliment about that photo – I added a bit of colour to it, straight from the Nikon 🙂

  2. What fantastic pictures Marina! I really enjoyed reading your post, your writing is exceptional! I don’t think I’ve heard anyone else say ‘marshmallow clouds’! Amazing! It felt as if I was sitting there with you and smelling that freshly brewed coffee! Hmm… and I am trying to give up coffee 😀 Have a nice day!

  3. I love the Il Mulino in AC. The design is beautiful and the food is out of this world. Your photograph of the kitchen is awesome. It captures the energy inside the place. WOW!

    • Hi Stuart – thank you for your lovely comment 🙂 I took alot of photos of the beach – it is just so beautiful and looks different from every point of view on the Boardwalk. I would rather form a mutual admiration club as I love your photos 😉

    • I just ate a bunch of salt water taffy… so many flavours to choose from these days. Banana, watermelon, peach, apple and paired combinations I can’t even recall! Thanks for viewing the photos!

  4. wow! Those boardwalk shots are stunning. A winter sanctuary. There is a stillness and meditative quality to these pictures. So different from your bustling New York images.
    And your words, so engaging, meditative in themselves. Fascinating.

    • Thanks so much Karen. I’ve always been a fan of the ocean in summer, though it was pulling me in the winter. It has such a different quality to it – calm, serene, still. It leaves a lasting impression.

  5. I can’t decide which I love more – your images or narrative. I’m glad that I didn’t have to choose. Thanks for taking us with you, Marina! (I’ve never been there, but through you, I feel that I now have.)

Please Comment

