When a Bolt of Inspiration is Required

Some days, I find it difficult to write; a dark and chilly start can quash my concentration and dampen my spirit. Yes, the extreme seasonal temperatures in the Northern Hemisphere get to me, and on days like today, I long to be teleported to Sydney for some summer sun. Or to a Caribbean beach. Or to Fiji for a swim in the crystal clear waters. Since teleportation is hardly possible at this point in time, what do I do?

I look to travel quotes and photographs.

I have been collecting quotes for some time and love how they can set the tone of my day by imparting wisdom in as little as a sentence.

The same goes for a photograph. A great image can hit me like a ray of sunshine and transport me to a different place . I learn a little bit more about a part of the world that I may never have seen, heard of, or paid attention to before.

I’m hoping that a bunch of quotes and photos will get me through New York’s temperamental fall and winter. Otherwise, I’ll just have to book a trip somewhere warm and exotic. Or relocate to warmer pastures.

Until then, here are some of my favourite travel quotes and photographs, shared by a number of talented artists in the blogoshere. If you have any favourites to share, please send them along.

*You can also see more imagery and quotes in the second part:

Bolt of Inspiration Series, Part Two.

*******************************************************************************************

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” St Augustine

Australia – Sydney: home is where the heart is ~ All rights reserved by shaza85

Link here for image source

“Half the fun of travel is the aesthetic of lostness.” Ray Bradbury

Africa – Etosha National Park, Okondeka Fountain ~ Louis © rights reserved

Link here for image source

“Travel and change of place impart new vigor to the mind.” Seneca

Iceland – Aurora Borealis ~ Photograph by James Appleton

Link here for image source

“Legends say that the hummingbirds float free of time, carrying our hopes for love, joy and celebration… Like a hummingbird we aspire to hover and to savor each moment as it passes, embrace all that life has to offer and to celebrate the joy in everyday…” Papyrus

California, Escondid0 – A hummingbird’s delicate beauty ~ Photograph by Scott Randall

Link here for image source

“The journey is my home.” Muriel Rukeyser

Egypt – The Great Sphinx ~ Photograph by Kaushik Sarkar

Link here for image source

“A traveler without observation is a bird without wings.” Moslih Eddin Saadi

Ethiopia – Bale Mountains ~ Mikael Lypinski Photography

Link here for image source

“Stop worrying about the potholes in the road and celebrate the journey.” Babs Hoffman

Manhattan – The view from the Brooklyn Bridge ~ Photograph by Marina Chetner

“Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

South America ~ A llama watching over Maccu Picchu in Peru ~ © lwephoto.com

 Link here for image source

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” Marcel Proust

Alaska – Polar Bears in Kaktovik ~ Photograph by Mario Davalos

Link here for image source

“Life is short and the world is wide.” Simon Raven

Hawaii – Waikiki Dreaming ~ Photograph by Ana Fass

Link here for image source

“I should like to spend the whole of my life traveling abroad, if I could anywhere borrow another life to spend afterwards at home.” William Hazlitt

India – Markets, Goa ~ Photograph by Anubhav Tiwari

Link here for image source

“The rewards of the journey far outweigh the risk of leaving the harbor.” Unknown

Malta – The Azure Window in Gozo ~ Photograph by Ted Attard

Link here for image source

“They change their climate, not their soul, who rush across the sea.” Horace

Photograph by Boza Ivanovic

Link here for image source

31 thoughts on “When a Bolt of Inspiration is Required

  1. An inspiring blog for the day. I also find it interesting to see how you used the pictures, etc. Like Scott I can say I am honoured.
    To travel – in my home language where we refer to the restless as people ‘hankering to know the blue mountains and beyond’.

  2. You were right! I found a few quotes that spoke to me, especially “The journey is my home.” It’s short and simple, but I love it. Thanks for sharing these! Can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    • I am so glad you like them – yes, ‘The Journey is my home’ was one of the quotes that made me stop and think, “that is so true”. So simple and succinct in its meaning. Thanks for taking a look. I hope to post some more this week 🙂

  3. Proust’s quotation is as near as I get to empathising with the idea of endless travel. This may be because I’m not a good traveller. Not good in that I’m never quite sure why I’m doing it. I hate the environment of modern travel and when I arrive at my destination I realise that the picture was infinitely better than the fact. The hero of J.K.Huysman’s “Against Nature”, Des Esseintes, has quite a funky way of travelling.

    • Roger – I agree that the process of modern travel has become something that needs to be endured though Proust’s quote in the back pocket could alleviate many frustrations. 🙂 That said, I may need to include an Aldous Huxley quote for you in the next part to this series as it speaks to your comment re: “the picture was infinitely better than the fact.” With rain forecast for this week, the next series may be up as early as Thursday! I’ll check out Huysman’s book – thank you for referring me to it.

  4. Hi, lovely post. I agree that the lion is praying. How arrogant we are to think animals have no souls. Our Creator made us all. My experience with animals has shown me how loving and loyal that are. I have not always had this experience with people. Thanks for sharing this and telling me about the beautiful post. Hugs, pat

    • Thank you Pat. Animals are most definitely soulful creatures and I have had the most loyal pets. They are most definitely there by your side when you need them 🙂 Thank you for visiting and looking at my lion -such a beautiful animal!

Please Comment

